Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-04-2019, 04:53 PM   #1

towing question for my popup

I am new to PUP towing, but have experience towing boats and landscape trailers. For the time being I'll be towing my Premier 2514 with a 2015 Toyota Sienna. When loading my equipment should I be keeping the load weight concentrated in my minivan or in the camper? The camper has a pull-out storage compartment in the front, how much of a load will this take without affecting the tongue weight?
ADKdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 04:56 PM   #2

I have no answer for you but I am definitely interested in what others say!

I am also interested in how you like your Sienna for towing (we have the same PUP) as your van is my next car purchase potentially!

Thanks!
Hyundai Santa Fe V6
HappyCampers4223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 05:48 PM   #3

Anything you put in that front storage box will have an impact on your tongue weight. Its going to be a percentage but mathematically speaking it has to do with distance to trailer axle and distance to tongue. Given those boxes are in the front, about 3 feet from the tongue and about 6 to 8 feet to the trailer axle or more then more than 1/2 will go on the tongue.

I don't have that box but without my full propane tank and battery on the front of my trailer I loose about 100lbs off my tongue weight.
flyerdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 06:02 PM   #4
Just as confused as you

The same as with a full size TT your main concern should be not to overload the cargo carrying capacity of the tv. It's usually the first numbers you will exceed. There should be an axle weight rating sticker along with a tire and loading sticker, also known as cargo capacity, on the drivers door pillar. See examples below.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Axle Weight Rating.jpg
Views:	142