Old 11-26-2011, 12:55 PM   #1

Wind and pop ups?

What kinds of winds have other pop up owners endured? Going thru a pretty good storm in Arizona and starting to wonder if we should hold camp or "pack it up"? Looking at about 40 mph gusts

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 02:02 PM   #2

We made it through winds with 80 MPH gusts. It was a *very* long night. But the trailer was fine. I am sure you have taken in your awning? you might want to also bungy it down. In high winds the bag awning would get lifted up and the dropped back down - not dangerous, but very noisy.

Old 11-28-2011, 12:08 PM   #3

Had a pop-up for one trip to San Felipe, Mex. Was fine, except on the way back camped one night camping in New Mexico, the wind blew pretty good, lifting the sleeping extension, which made tough sleeping. Since wife was freaking out, closed it up and slept in the Bronco. After that, made the Dodge maxi-van that I had been using since 1980, into more of a rv, and used that until 2000 when I bought my first 5th wheel. Even tho, been in high winds with both 5th wheels I have owned, haven't been that noticeable. Wayne
Old 11-28-2011, 02:38 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

I had the wind bend the top canvas pole on my Coleman pop-up camper. I ended up collapsing that end and trying to sleep on the other end.....almost impossible with the wind that night. I cut that camping trip a little short.

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 05:24 PM   #5

high winds

Quote:
Originally Posted by HONDAMAN174 View Post
What kinds of winds have other pop up owners endured? Going thru a pretty good storm in Arizona and starting to wonder if we should hold camp or "pack it up"? Looking at about 40 mph gusts