Old 02-15-2016, 11:42 AM   #1
Yeti 150/400 as backup power?

Without going full on solar (I don't think I'm ready for that) and without a gas powered generator, I'm looking for ways to keep power over multiple days where I will not have power hookups.

There's actually not a bunch of information I could find on anything besides those couple of options. But I did find some battery packs like the Yeti 150/400 (Goal Zero Yeti 150 Solar Generator Kit | | Goal Zero and Goal Zero Yeti 400 Solar Generator Kit | Complete Solar Kits | Goal Zero) that come with solar panels, I can also plug into the wall before I leave, or into the car while traveling. I realize fully charging on solar alone could take me a several days to a week.

With all of that ~said~ typed, can either of these systems be used as a backup? Could I plug the whole camper into one and power it for the night? Multiple nights? Would that include A/C or heat? I'm still new to the whole scene, and can't figure out how to calculate power draws and how long my battery would last under typical usage. (I have only camped where there have been hookups thus far).

I have a 2015 Freedom 2318g, and the battery I currently have is the one that came from the dealer, an Interstate Marine HD24-DP.

Thanks for any info!

stonefry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2016, 03:46 PM   #2
Until you have an idea of how much power you are using, nobody can give you an answer that has a high probability of working for you. You are jumping at solutions without knowing the problem.