Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-05-2015, 08:54 AM   #1

What should I do if I work for a great company with a bad service department?

Hello again my name is Matt and I am a new RV salesman. I started on June 1st and I love it.

So I work for a great company. The people are nice the hours are great and the product is great!
We sell Forest River / Coachman / Jayco / Tiffins
So as you can see all great companies.

My question is that we have a great sales team and product
But we don't have a good service department.

What would you tell your own family member to do. Knowing that I can't relocate or work for another dealership near by.
Matt RV Salesman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 09:26 AM   #2

NVM
Mtelkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 09:29 AM   #3

Whether the service department is good or bad, you just cannot bad mouth the company you work for. The only thing I'd say to your clients, our service department is a bit behind on work or higher number of repair volume than usual or had a few turnovers as of late etc. Yes they may be white lies but you can always refer the customer to another service department other than yours for faster, quicker and better service.

The issue here is a 2 way street, when you start to refer clients to a different service department other than your own, your return clients and word of mouth to new potential clients about your service department will hurt you and your own dealership. They will shop elsewhere.

Dave
Days camped in 2015-18, 0 Days so far
Days camped in 2019, (8)
This Space for Rent
Night Stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2015, 09:43 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt RV Salesman View Post
Hello again my name is Matt and I am a new RV salesman. I started on June 1st and I love it.