Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2015, 04:27 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
2010 20qv rooftop air conditioner freezing up

It runs fine at home when getting ready to go, but when we set up it's fine for a while but will freeze up when we're going to bed
__________________

__________________
laurieann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 07:34 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Are all your vents open?
Is the frost sensor still attached?


TURBS
08 duramax tuned n modded
2011 32bhok Sabre
2015 camping "27 nights"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 08:12 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Will check that this weekend we left it up at Reelfoot Lake going to crafts around the lake
__________________
laurieann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 08:31 AM   #4
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,312
X2 on the freeze coil. I had a unit do that exact thing and come to find out the freeze coil wasn't attached to the evaporator. I placed the freeze coil where it should have been all along and it stopped freezing up.

I also found several leaks between the discharge and return that I sealed up with aluminum backed foam tape. Didn't have another problem with it from then on.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 12:53 PM   #5
Member
 
robert.beck.7737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 93
AC Freezing

I experienced a freezing AC on my 2011 XLR TH with the main AC. Technician replaced freeze/temperature sensor with no improvement. Changed out fan and motor. Still no improvement. Last resort, replaced AC unit with a new unit. New unit has the same specs, but has a smaller foot print on top. Very satisfied with new Dometic AC.
__________________
robert.beck.7737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 02:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurieann View Post
It runs fine at home when getting ready to go, but when we set up it's fine for a while but will freeze up when we're going to bed
Hi have you washed out the air filter for the A/C? Low air flow caused by a dirty air filter will cause A/C to freeze up.

Hope this helps Tim
__________________
TimVWulp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 03:36 PM   #7
Member
 
robert.beck.7737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 93
AC Problems

As I previously stated, I ended up replacing the AC on my 2011 XLR TH. First tried replacing the freeze sensor, motor and fan and cleaning the cooling find. The apparent problem was low freon and sense RV AC systems are hermetically sealed, replacement was the only alternative. I don't know why they are sealed without a port to add freon.
__________________
robert.beck.7737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 12:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert.beck.7737 View Post
As I previously stated, I ended up replacing the AC on my 2011 XLR TH. First tried replacing the freeze sensor, motor and fan and cleaning the cooling find. The apparent problem was low freon and sense RV AC systems are hermetically sealed, replacement was the only alternative. I don't know why they are sealed without a port to add freon.
Hi number one reason is cost. Second is a very high possibility it will leak at the service valves.

Hope this helps Tim
__________________
TimVWulp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 10:30 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Wolverine 1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SouthWest Michigan
Posts: 3,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimVWulp View Post
Hi number one reason is cost. Second is a very high possibility it will leak at the service valves.

Hope this helps Tim
Are you sure a AC Tec could not add service valve ???
__________________
Wolverine 1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 11:59 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolverine 1945 View Post
Are you sure a AC Tec could not add service valve ???
Yes a service tech can add a service valve to the system to recharge the unit. Again it is cost at $80.00 - 100.00 / hr service time. One hr to prep and install the service valve, one to two hr to leak check the unit. one hr to recover the refrigerant from the unit and deposes of. One hr to prep and silver solder leak. two hour to evacuate the air from the unit. One hour to recharge unit with refrigerant and put covers back on unit. So now the A/C is running $500 - $800 have been spent in repairs. You still have an old used unit that may work for many years or die the next day. New unit costs is $800 - $1000 and you have a one year warranty on the new unit. If the repairs are going to cost 3/4 of the cost of a new unit buy the new unit.

Hope this helps Tim
__________________

__________________
TimVWulp is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, roo, roof

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.