Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2016, 04:48 PM   #11
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
That is what I do not know. The OP is the one who needs to clarify which heater he has.
I am asking about your two switches John. I have a feeling you may have been mis-operating your previous water heaters which I why I am asking about yours ONLY currently.

It's fairly obvious the OP has the SWDE model, or he would see the electric switch inside if he had the SWDEL model as it would be right beside his propane/dsi switch.
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 04:56 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
I have no problem. They operate perfectly. Outside switch is on unless I have removed the anode in which case it is off until the heater is filled with a water. The inside switch, for normal electric operation is on when I want hot water turned off for travel and disconnecting shore power, the DSI propane switch is usually off unless I want the heater to more rapidly heat the water which is not often. I am pretty sure I have the operation down quite well. If not, please enlighten me.
__________________

__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 04:57 PM   #13
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
I have no problem. They operate perfectly. Outside switch is on unless I have removed the anode in which case it is off until the heater is filled with a water. The inside switch, for normal electric operation is on when I want hot water turned off for travel and disconnecting shore power, the DSI propane switch is usually off unless I want the heater to more rapidly heat the water which is not often. I am pretty sure I have the operation down quite well. If not, please enlighten me.
So you have TWO inside switches for the water heater?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 08:40 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Elkhounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Verona WI
Posts: 125
I have the same setup as John. Outside switch on the heater is for electric only. I have to have that one on and I have to turn on the inside switch for electric for it to work on electric. So 2 switches to make it run on electric. Then I have another switch inside that is for running it on gas. If I turn on that one it does not matter where the outside electric switch is or the inside electric switch is it will get hot with gas.

Hope that makes sense. 3 switches total.
__________________
2015 F-350 Platinum 6.7 PowerStroke
2017 Columbus 320RS
Elkhounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 09:46 AM   #15
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 6,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTJohn View Post
.... The inside switch, for normal electric operation is on when I want hot water turned off for travel....
Sorry again. Maybe I haven't had enough coffee... but you say the switch is ON when you want hot water turned OFF. What am I missing?
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49 / '14 = 74 / '15 = 74 / '16 = 85 / '17 = 110 / '18 = 0; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 09:47 AM   #16
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 6,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkhounds View Post
I have the same setup as John. Outside switch on the heater is for electric only. I have to have that one on and I have to turn on the inside switch for electric for it to work on electric. So 2 switches to make it run on electric. Then I have another switch inside that is for running it on gas. If I turn on that one it does not matter where the outside electric switch is or the inside electric switch is it will get hot with gas.

Hope that makes sense. 3 switches total.
Is your water heater made by Atwood or by Suburban? Thx.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49 / '14 = 74 / '15 = 74 / '16 = 85 / '17 = 110 / '18 = 0; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 09:49 AM   #17
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkhounds View Post
I have the same setup as John. Outside switch on the heater is for electric only. I have to have that one on and I have to turn on the inside switch for electric for it to work on electric. So 2 switches to make it run on electric. Then I have another switch inside that is for running it on gas. If I turn on that one it does not matter where the outside electric switch is or the inside electric switch is it will get hot with gas.

Hope that makes sense. 3 switches total.
Makes perfect sense, as you have the Suburban SWDEL model, as per here:

Suburban's electric switch and much more
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 09:54 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Elkhounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Verona WI
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Dan View Post
Is your water heater made by Atwood or by Suburban? Thx.
That is a awesome question. It is in a 2017 Columbus 320RS that we picked up just over a month ago. I'll have it back at the house middle of next week. Never looked to see who made the heater. Just learning all the operations on it.

Maybe someone else will know what brand Columbus puts in.
__________________
2015 F-350 Platinum 6.7 PowerStroke
2017 Columbus 320RS
Elkhounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 09:57 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Elkhounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Verona WI
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
Makes perfect sense, as you have the Suburban SWDEL model, as per here:

Suburban's electric switch and much more
Yep thank you. So with the switch on the heater OFF I can still get hot water using gas on the control panel like your picture shows. To use electric to heat then I have to have the switch ON on the heater and the electric switch ON in the control panel.
__________________
2015 F-350 Platinum 6.7 PowerStroke
2017 Columbus 320RS
Elkhounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 10:00 AM   #20
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elkhounds View Post
That is a awesome question. It is in a 2017 Columbus 320RS that we picked up just over a month ago. I'll have it back at the house middle of next week. Never looked to see who made the heater. Just learning all the operations on it.



Maybe someone else will know what brand Columbus puts in.


Suburban


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "6"
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2014, electric, hot water, palomino, water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.