Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2015, 09:45 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 14
2nd AC Unit

Morning to ALL!
Anyone added a second AC in the bedroom? Wondering if I should go with a ducted model or an independant unit with controls as part of the ceiling diffuser.

Q. If I go with a ducted unit that works off the themostat, will the thermostat keep both units from "starting" up at the same time to limit the amount of current draw? (I have 30 amp service)

All comments are appreciated.
dr
__________________

__________________
DruR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:37 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
mud yapster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,162
With dual A/C units you will need a 50amp service
__________________

__________________
2014 Palomino Columbus 3650TH
435AH 12V VMax Charge Tanks, 520 watt Monocrystilline Solar Array, Morningstar MPPT TS-60 CC,Morningstar Remote,Cotek True Sine Wave Inverter,Cotek Remote Controller,50amp Progressive Hardwire Surge Protector
2015 Dodge 3500 6.7L 4X4
2011 CanAm Commander XT 1000
mud yapster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:49 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by mud yapster View Post
With dual A/C units you will need a 50amp service
... to run both at the same time.

With 30A service, you simply run them one at a time.
__________________
Iwritecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:52 AM   #4
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,762
I have 2 A/Cs factory installed. I have 2 separate thermostats - one towards the living room and one in the bedroom (where the 2nd was added).
__________________
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 10:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
rsdata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Northern KY
Posts: 1,547
have you tried just putting a fan on the floor to circulate the air? Moving air is much cooler feeling even if it is the same temp on the inside.
__________________


2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 11:52 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,481
We added a second A/C to the bedroom. It was prewired with a thermostat so that we can run the A/C at night by itself and save on the power bill if we're paying for it. During the heat of the day it nice to cool the whole RV quicker with the two A/Cs running.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 12:09 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
BamaBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Whereever our Berkshire is Parked!
Posts: 6,987
X2 Ed! We love our 2nd A/C and would never consider getting another 5er without 2 A/Cs!
__________________
Bob & Anne-Marie [BamaBob & 6 Actual]
| 2017 Berkshire XLT 43A with Ultrasteer Tag | Blue Ox Avail + KarGard II |
| SMI AF-1 Air Brake | 2016 Jeep Cherokee Overland TOAD | Pedego Bikes |
Nights Camped: 2013 - 24 • 2014 - 42 • 2015 - 56 • Jul 2016 - Fulltime •
BamaBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 12:15 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 14
Have any of you run both AC on 30 service?,,,I know you have to not run the oven, electric water heater etc...

Just asking,,

Thanks for all the responses...
dr
__________________
DruR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 12:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,362
I too am interested in adding a second a/c unit to mine...heat would be nice too...

Has anyone ever added to a 2011ish Palomino? Mine is a 295KBH model

I can handle the wiring etc...I am nervous about cutting and where and is there existing wiring? etc...
__________________
Iwannacamp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2015, 12:24 PM   #10
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by DruR View Post
Have any of you run both AC on 30 service?,,,I know you have to not run the oven, electric water heater etc...

Just asking,,

Thanks for all the responses...
dr
I never have. At most, I'll have one AC running and then have a pedestal fan running in my upstairs bedroom. Never had a problem running it with the oven or water heater.

The breakers only tend to trip when we run the toaster or microwave while the AC is going.
__________________

__________________
Iwritecode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.