Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-12-2013, 07:12 PM   #41
IndyDave

I like the fact that my 2012 Dodge 6.7 Cummins is mated with a Mercedes transmission and Case rear end. Sounds like durability to me.
djhender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 07:43 PM   #42

As a heavy equipment mechanic I feel that the cummins is a good engine. The remarks that the ford can't get 18-20 mpg are incorrect. I own a 2011 and it does get 18-20 on the highway. When we hook our Blue Ridge fiver to it at nearly 15k it gets 11-11 1/2 mpg at 65. I have brand new fords and rams in our fleet at work. While the cummins lacks horsepower to the ford the torque is almost identical. The cab on the dodge is very nice. However, there are reasons that ford has been the number 1 selling truck for so long. Drive both, I have, the only real objection to the Ram is that is the lighter duty trucks (under 4500 series) the trans is lacking and the cummins is noisier and vibrates in the cab. Drive both and see how you feel in them. Neither is a bad truck. I favor my ford.
Scott Colegrove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 08:31 PM   #43
IndyDave

I just made a trip from Ohio to Tampa Florida and back. I have the 6.7 Cummins in my Dodge RAM. Got 11.5 towing my Columbus down - fully loaded. Left it in Tampa for my return in October. Got 19.6 MPG on the return trip without the 5th wheel. I found my best mileage at around 68 MPH.
djhender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 07:32 AM   #44
Incheon, S. Korea

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankm2 View Post
I heard ford purchased cummins a few years ago, but dodge had a contract for the motor until 2016.
Maybe I'll be able to get a Ford/Cummins truck when I move back! Yippee!
BigBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:20 AM   #45

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBaron View Post