Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2014, 04:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
A/c freezing up on 36qbok

My camper is less than a year old and the ac units are always freezing up. Any idea what is causing it? I can open the quick cool vent and it will usually defrost. They are both factory units. I am glad I got that second year warranty because the camper will be a year old in May.
__________________

Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 04:50 PM   #2
NELA
 
Weezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3,221
Ex (we owned an A/C dealership for 20 years) always said three things cause a freeze up;

1. Stat turned below 68*
2. Dirty filter preventing air flow
3. Low on Freon
__________________

__________________

If age is a state of mind, and I've lost my mind, I'm AGELESS, right?
Give me 40 acres and I'll turn this rig around:
Flagstaff 5er 2014 8528 IKWS, Platinum Package, Regency Interior "Buffy"
F250 Super Duty 2013 Tuxedo Black "Biff"
Days camped 2014: 30
Weezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 04:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
It is not the first 2 , stat was set at 70 and the filters are clean they have been doing this off and on since new.
Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 04:52 PM   #4
Are we there yet.......
 
Pbalmer65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 166
Sounds like the vents are closed off. Maybe to redirect air to a hot spot or your running the air when it's cooler out causing head pressure change. The direct dump removes the possibility of a bad ac.
Pbalmer65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 04:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
A/c freezing up on 36qbok

The vents on mine you can't close off, they are all open. It is right at 70 here today but the sun was causing it to get 80 in the camper so I cut the ac on too cool it down .
Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 05:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
I don't think it is cycling like it should be. Where should the temp probe be? In the return are side or the air duct side?
Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 06:07 PM   #7
Are we there yet.......
 
Pbalmer65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 166
Air service side
Pbalmer65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 06:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
That is what I thought mine is just hanging out in the return air
Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 06:20 PM   #9
Are we there yet.......
 
Pbalmer65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 166
Your looking for around 15+ on a day in the 70s. Keep in mind it takes some time for RV air to be at max cool temp.
Pbalmer65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:02 PM   #10
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19,205
What are the symptoms of an air conditioner freezing up? I don't think the ones on my 36qb have - they've performed pretty well, but I'm not 100% positive that I would know. If you can explain, I can tell you if I've experienced the same or not.

It looks like another member had similar issues (different camper):
dometic a/c freezing up repair
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 08:24 PM   #11
Oklahoma Proud
 
MillerTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: central OK
Posts: 2,785
If it was from day one, I would say that it was low on freon as well. If it does on both then I would think that there is factory defect on the temp probe. Highly unlikely that both would have low charge amounts.... but crazier things happen every day.

Question, when looking up from where the filter is, there isnt any foam or cardboard or insulation blocking the coils is there?
I would check for a blockage first and inspect under the outer cover for anything abnormal. Or if your fairly close to your dealer, take it to them, heck you got a warranty, might as well use it

MillerTime- Future Sabre Handler!!
MillerTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 09:06 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
A/c freezing up on 36qbok

I am on vacation right now but you can bet when I get back home it is going back to the dealer.

I have taken the inside cover off and I can find any kind of blockage. We will see how it does the rest of the week.
Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 09:11 PM   #13
NELA
 
Weezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3,221
eDad, the condenser fins and coils will ice over, and you'll notice there's little to no air coming from the vents (because it's frozen over and can't move air).

Edit: the same thing can happen on your automotive a/c. Sometimes that's caused by the temp set to its lowest setting and the fan setting is also set to low. OR, it's low on Freon.

GOT to be able to move air.

(I drove by an old couples house a month ago and their outside (condenser) was a four ft. X four ft. block of solid ICE. I've never SEEN a condenser freeze up the entire unit, including the cover/casing. I went in and told them about it and they immediately contacted their repair guy. It was COLD outside that day, BTW.)
__________________

If age is a state of mind, and I've lost my mind, I'm AGELESS, right?
Give me 40 acres and I'll turn this rig around:
Flagstaff 5er 2014 8528 IKWS, Platinum Package, Regency Interior "Buffy"
F250 Super Duty 2013 Tuxedo Black "Biff"
Days camped 2014: 30
Weezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 09:27 PM   #14
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weezer View Post
eDad, the condenser fins and coils will ice over, and you'll notice there's little to no air coming from the vents (because it's frozen over and can't move air).
Thanks- and ok, no- never had this happen to us. Crazy story, though!

Brandon, did you see the f1100Turbo post that I linked to? It sounds like the freeze sensor may fall off. Given that both of yours are acting up and always have, it almost sounds like someone made a mistake at installation time. ("What's this for?" "I dunno." (snip))
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:37 AM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
Frost sensor may have fallen off.
Or located in the wrong spot.
Do not shut the roof vents thru out the coach to try and keep one room colder or warmer.
Air flow is a big deal here.



TURBS
Sabre owners united!
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:47 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
Checked frost sensors and one had fallen off but not the other. All vents are open . My vents have no way of closing them.
Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:50 AM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
The frost sensor that was still on, where was it located?

TURBS
Sabre owners united!
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:51 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
Mid way up in the center
Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:54 AM   #19
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
It should be completely down at the bottom which is where it will start to freeze.

Also the frost may actually push the sensor off.

Later I had mine freeze again.
I took it back to the dealer and they found the plenum was not installed properly.
They redid the plenum and sealed some leaks.

Ive been frost free.
Except when one of my dear children thought he was hotter then the rest and turned the thermostat to the coldest setting.


TURBS
Sabre owners united!
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:57 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 141
I will move rife sensor down today. I think one if the units may be low on freon it doesn't feel like it is cooling as well as the other .
__________________

Brandon327 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 AM.


×