Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2012, 12:43 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Cyoul8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix. AZ
Posts: 103
Hey, thanks for all the resonses. I do have a wallplate in the bedroom so I have a feed there but it is not the amplified wallplate. I dry camp a lot so just turning it on at the living room plate and leaving it on will not work for me. I want to be able to turn it on/off from either location when needed and not have to go to the living room plate to turn on/off when I watch the bedroom tv. I would probably forget it's on when shutting off the bedroom tv at night and wake up with a dead battery. It has a led light when it's on so I'll remember to shut it off.
__________________

__________________

2012 Palomino Sabre 32RCTS-6
2012 Ford F-250 Super Duty Fx4 6.7 Powerstroke
16K PullRite SuperGlide
Air Lift LoadLifter 5000 Air Bags
Cyoul8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 02:11 PM   #12
rip
Senior Member
 
rip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyoul8r View Post
I want to be able to turn it on/off from either location when needed and not have to go to the living room plate to turn on/off when I watch the bedroom tv.
Now I understand. Here's an illustration of a typical Sensar wallplate like an RV-7542 (not an RA-7596) from one of my old Winegard manuals.



Notice one of their warnings is not to install splitters on the antenna lead. The electonic board in their primary wall plate (when turned on) is sending power up the coax to the amplifier in the antenna which boosta the tv signals and returns them back down the same coax to the set 1 and set 2 connections. So, you have voltage and tv signal traveling along that coax.

The voltage appears to be isolated from the cable, set 1 and set 2 connections, but I'm not sure. I didn't put a voltmeter on those when I was troubleshooting my wallplate.

Your ideal solution would be to have a different switch on the primary wall plate wired with another switch on the 2nd wallplate, allowing the two to toggle between power on-off. Beyond my Radio Shack experience...

A work-around, not as good, may be to put a switch on the 12 volt wires going to the primary wall plate (the red/white labeled wires in the diagram, yours may be different colors) and wire that back to the bedroom, so your bedroom switch would cut off 12 volts before it got to the primary wallplate. The 12 volt switch on the primary wall plate could still be on but there would be no power going to it because that power was cut off at the bedroom switch.

The bedroom switch would be like a battery on-off switch for your Winegard system. They have lighted 12v switches so you'll have a visual about whether you have your overall Winegard sytem receiving power or not. I don't know if I communicated that well. Others here may have a better idea, or explain mine clearer.
__________________

__________________
Ray
+ 2013 Rockwood Windjammer 2809W
+ 2008 GMC Sierra Crew Z71
+ 2002 Ford F-250 7.3L 4X4
rip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:58 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Cyoul8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Phoenix. AZ
Posts: 103
Thanks rip. I think you are right. The diagram shows no 12v signal at the "set 2" connection and it seems my best solution would be to wire in a swith on the 12v feed like you suggested. That way I wouldn't have to worry about blowing anythin up!!! ... and I could control either TV when needed. I will give it a try.
Hey, nice Texas bass in your avatar!
__________________

2012 Palomino Sabre 32RCTS-6
2012 Ford F-250 Super Duty Fx4 6.7 Powerstroke
16K PullRite SuperGlide
Air Lift LoadLifter 5000 Air Bags
Cyoul8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 02:51 PM   #14
rip
Senior Member
 
rip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
They seem to have a good forum system there. I'd suggest just asking them about this specific configuration.
BarryD0706 made a good suggestion. Run it past the Winegard forum he suggested to see if interupting the power with a switch causes some problem.
__________________
Ray
+ 2013 Rockwood Windjammer 2809W
+ 2008 GMC Sierra Crew Z71
+ 2002 Ford F-250 7.3L 4X4
rip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 04:37 PM   #15
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
Also, the switch serves another purpose beside turning power on and Off to the antenna amplifier. It also switches the outlets (both No. 1 and No. 2) between the antenna (button depressed) and cable (button released).
__________________

__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.