Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 10:37 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelek View Post
Same drill with mine. Also the kitchen and hallway lights lower or kill reception on the basement radio. So today I Googled LED lighting radio interferance. On a ham radio website forum I found that the LED lights do indeed emit RF noise. One guy flipped the polarity on his LED light and problem went away - The LED light was not polarity dependant in the socket. SOOOOO, flip your lights in the socket and see what happens.

IF that doesn't work, get creative with RF shielding. Thin copper film plates aka copper tinfoil is used inside of electronic equipment enclosures to reduce/eliminate RF noise emmisions from the electronic device. Playing with this material may also help.

It's winter in Minnesota. It's gonna be awhile before we do any testing up here in the great white north.

Regarding TV reception.......the bedroom TV has a setup menu that allows you to view the antenna signal. Get to this menu then rotate your roof antenna to adjust for best signal reception.

Hi Joelek!

We will investigate the LED issue and see if there is something we can do.
When you talk about the TV reception and the 'set up menu' are you reffering to the scan that is done off the menu=channels=auto channel search, then it locates the available channels? Or is there something else I am missing? We have the Hisense TV BTW.
Thanks!!
__________________

__________________
Larry & Kerry Jackson
2012 Ford F250SD
2013 Columbus 320RS

Kerryj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:32 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
amxpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 683
My Columbus 320RS was built in March 2012.
If I turned on the LED lights over the TV or stove, the TV picture would go out when using the roof antenna.
Here's what I would recommend doing:
Remove the antenna amplifier plate located behind the TV.
Make sure the coax cables are all tightly screwed into the amplifier. Also, make sure the coax terminals are tight on the cable ends. Mine wasn't. It is now and my TV works great with the antenna.
Finally, make sure ALL the coax cables are connected to the amplifer. The cable running to my roof antenna was not connected AND the terminal end was loose.
Good luck.
__________________

__________________
2013 Palomino Columbus 320RS
2007 Dodge RAM 2500 6.7 Cummins
Reese 15K manual slider
Prodigy
M.I.L. in Florida for good!!
amxpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 12:12 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by amxpress View Post
My Columbus 320RS was built in March 2012.
If I turned on the LED lights over the TV or stove, the TV picture would go out when using the roof antenna.
Here's what I would recommend doing:
Remove the antenna amplifier plate located behind the TV.
Make sure the coax cables are all tightly screwed into the amplifier. Also, make sure the coax terminals are tight on the cable ends. Mine wasn't. It is now and my TV works great with the antenna.
Finally, make sure ALL the coax cables are connected to the amplifer. The cable running to my roof antenna was not connected AND the terminal end was loose.
Good luck.

Thanks amxpress! I will give that a look tomorrow hopefully and see if it works! I will post if something works!!
__________________
Larry & Kerry Jackson
2012 Ford F250SD
2013 Columbus 320RS

Kerryj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:42 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
ranchand

Amxpress, my Columbus 320 was built in June of 2012 so I will check the cable connections. Is the antenna amplifier behind the amplifier wall plate? Thanks for sharing your experience regarding this issue.
__________________
ranchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:55 AM   #15
Trailer Trash
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerryj View Post
Hi Joelek!

We will investigate the LED issue and see if there is something we can do.
When you talk about the TV reception and the 'set up menu' are you reffering to the scan that is done off the menu=channels=auto channel search, then it locates the available channels? Or is there something else I am missing? We have the Hisense TV BTW.
Thanks!!
Not the Hisense tv in living room as I never found this feature on the Hisense brand. Use the bedroom TV - mine is a Toshiba. Not the scan for channels menu either. There is a setup menu for checking/displaying antenna reception. Sorry I don't have the how to get to this setup feature memorized so you will have to play with it yourself.
__________________
joelek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 07:48 AM   #16
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranchand View Post
Amxpress, my Columbus 320 was built in June of 2012 so I will check the cable connections. Is the antenna amplifier behind the amplifier wall plate? Thanks for sharing your experience regarding this issue.
The wall plate is a power supply for the amp which is part of the antenna on the roof (inside the white box). It is also a powered switcher that switches the TV feeds to the roof antenna when ON and to the cable TV connection on the outside of the camper when "OFF."

Lots of connections back there to check including the splitters.
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Sensar Antenna and Amp Plate.pdf (1.06 MB, 35 views)
File Type: pdf Winegard Wall PLate Amp.pdf (143.1 KB, 24 views)
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 02:25 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
rugmanrn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
We had the exact problem. Turn on the lights, Especially the switch on slide near LR tv, and we would nearly lose tv reception on cable. It would be one of watching DVD. After 2 days of trouble shooting by the tech on site it was found that none of the screw on connectors were grounded. The factory just screwed on the connectors without stripping some of the insulation back and exposing the silver mesh of coax. After replacing all the ends it works perfect. We ha to remove panels underneath Rv and find the male-male connector. Forest river rep Bryant is aware of this. I sent home pics of the way factory did connectors
__________________
rugmanrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 02:26 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
rugmanrn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 27
Also. Our unit was built in March 2012
__________________
rugmanrn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:59 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
ranchand

Thanks herk7769 for posting the information regarding the antenna amplifier. When I get time I will check the connections behind the wall and see if coax connections are good.
__________________
ranchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:06 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 16
Rugmanrn, was the work the dealer done in reworking the coax connections covered by factory warranty? Sounds like I may have the same issue with my tv and LED lighting. I lose tv signal when some of my light switches are turned on. Have Columbus 320 built June 2012
__________________

__________________
ranchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
320rs, reception

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.