Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2013, 08:10 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Columbus 385BH

So I have been trying to get my RV fixed for the last 2.5 months to no avail.. Dealer is Paradise RV in Red Deer. Here are the main issues..keep in mind I am purely venting here to make myself feel better and really don't expect this stuff to get fixed because of the history I have had with my last 5 trailers. That and the fact both the sales rep and warranty person I was dealing with no longer work there and they have no records of my issues....*starting over again... yay!!! I am convinced that this whole industry needs an upgrade in customer service and product engineering to make customers happier going forward.

Maybe the community here can help me fix these issues.

Unit doesn't heat up in the cold and doesn't cool off in the heat plus I can see outside when the slides are out in the bunks, assuming this is a small part of the problem.

#1 - Dealer says that it is my fault I didn't buy the 2nd air conditioner and I am responsible to buy one to fix the problem. I told them it was being permanently parked in a campsite year round with avg temps in the summer being above 30 degrees. I also told them I only have 30 amp service so it wouldn't be able to run it even if I did buy it at the beginning. (are there any tricks to getting 2 air conditioning units on 30 amp service)

#2 - The bunks are freezing. I am told it is a manufacturing problem because the furnace is too far up front in the trailer and I have to use space heaters....We had a mobile company come out and do some fixes but the dampers on the vents don't make a difference. *incoming sarcasm* 1 good thing is I have a sauna in the bathroom when I max the furnace up to get the main area warmed up and this is only when it is 10 celcius outside....

#3 - The holes in the slides I am at a total loss on because any fix that I do will have to be undone when I close the slides up in 3 weeks for the winter...

Any ideas would be helpful..

Freezing and boiling in Alberta....

Thanks,
__________________

sgrueber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 08:19 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
2 other things I forgot. I have read other people have the same problem but the TV and sat are mislabeled and I cannot get my satellite to show up on the front or back TV's. I have read some stuff on it being a potential splitter issue so if someone can confirm or deny that would be great.

Secondly why does my DVD movies play through my surround sound but my TV doesn't. must be a simple wiring issue I thought but when I looked at the back of the DVD unit the speaker wires go into that receiver and there is no way to get my satellite receiver to go through it before the TV.
__________________

sgrueber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 08:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727
I won't be much help with your dealer issues but I will suggest that for the tv to go through the surround sound you will need to connect the tv sound output to an auxillary input on your stereo unit, then on the tv menu select sound out put to external speakers and on the stereo select the auxillary port you plugged into.
__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 08:47 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgrueber View Post
2 other things I forgot. I have read other people have the same problem but the TV and sat are mislabeled and I cannot get my satellite to show up on the front or back TV's. I have read some stuff on it being a potential splitter issue so if someone can confirm or deny that would be great.
I don't have a Columbus, but since no one else has yet helped you with that, I will try.

Have you ever successfully used the "Cable" connection to your RV? If so, the wires are not swapped. The easy way to tell if they're swapped is to look at the wire colors on both ends of the Sat wire. (Thankfully they normally use different colors for Sat vs Cable.)

Do you have an outlet marked "Sat" at both TVs or only at one of the TVs? If at both, then yes, they used a splitter that will have to be removed or replaced (based on answer to next question).

Are you trying to use Dish or DirecTV, and which receiver model? What sort of dish are you using outside the rig?
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 09:03 AM   #5
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,499
Also with the Satellite problem, I found out that only 2 0f the 4 connections were wires, I then found out that the factory used the wrong size connectors and they had fallen off behind the wall plates.
__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79, 2018 84, 2019 47 reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 07:00 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
New Residential Refrigerator

Hi, We are in the process of ordering a 385BH. We were told today that a 18 cu ft residential refrigerator will be replacing the 12 cu ft lp/ac one. Does anyone know the brand / model number of the new fridge?
lexluther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 07:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Earth Station's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 627
Columbus furnaces are not just ducted front and back... each and every vent is fed direct.
__________________

Felicia & Jeff - Missouri
2013 Columbus - 320 RS 2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2012 Camping 59 DAYS; 2013 50 DAYS; 2014 WAITING
Earth Station is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 06:19 PM   #8
Member
 
Patrickdana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southwest virginia
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by lexluther View Post
Hi, We are in the process of ordering a 385BH. We were told today that a 18 cu ft residential refrigerator will be replacing the 12 cu ft lp/ac one. Does anyone know the brand / model number of the new fridge?
Maytag Mdl # MFC2061KES14
__________________

__________________
For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. 2Timothy 1:7
Patrickdana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
columbus

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


×