Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2014, 04:51 PM   #11
Member
 
hihocarp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by hihocarp View Post
We haven;t ordered yet[looking like tomorrow yay!!!] but were told by the dealer 8-10 weeks
Just an update.
We put in the order on Feb 5th for the grey 365 with slide toppers, king bed, 2nd ac, 6 pt levelling, bike rack, tri glide pin box, 4 door fridge and backup camera. Hoping to go to Indiana by the middle of April to pick it up. Already had a Curt 5th wheel hitch installed and I installed the Airlift bags and a Wireless one air compressor.
__________________

__________________
2012 Dodge Ram 3500 Crew Cab Dually
2015 Columbus 365 RL ( completed April 14,2014 )
Baxter and Bella [our dogs]
Days camped in 2014: 7
hihocarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 05:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
BigTJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Palm Coast FL
Posts: 746
We ordered ours in Jan 13, it came off the line Apr 13, delivered to Central East FL in late Apr. It came to us as a 2014 model - 320RS. I did install a SurgeGuard hardwired (only way to go is hardwired) in the area behind the black forward wall in the basement/on the galley wall by going through the power panel. I just took it out and had "some" room to work. Use the cable from the power panel (incoming power) to the input side of the surge suppressor (ss). Get a short piece of dryer cord, 4 conductor maybe 3-4 ft long and use that to connect from the output side of the ss to the input of the pwr pnl. 4 wires in, 4 wires out. The pwr cbl now which goes into the pwr pnl is VERY STIFF. Too much so to try and wrestle it into proper orientation if you cut off the 3-4 ft of it to use for the input pwr to the pnl. The display panel that comes with the unit or you buy separately seems to me to be almost useless. The unit will either allow or disallow passage of power based on the line condition. If power is good, then in about 120 seconds you have power, if line is bad for some reason, you have no power. No power, you cannot read the codes, power you can read the codes but if you can read the codes - you have good power so who cares. If the power falls or rises above protection points, no power, no codes. Sure it will save the codes so you can see what the problem was but not until power is good. For me I just do not want to have to watch the meter to see if the line is good or not. For some the deviation of a few volts makes a big deal. Your choice on the meter. I do check the line voltage and proper ground, reversed neutral/hot before I plug in so all that is a known element. If the unit does its job, I'm happy.
__________________

__________________
Brenda and John
'14 Ram 3500 MCSB 6.7L HO PullRite 16K S/G, Grey Columbus 320RS Camped '14 - 146 days/'15 - 196 days
USN-EOD(Ret), Master Chief, 30 yrs,
Master Blaster of the Navy
BigTJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 07:12 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
We have a 2013 320RS Columbus. We love our trailer. Took it on 7000 mile trip. A few minor issues showed up with one exception! Vinyl flooring has a whole series of bubbles. Has anyone had a similar issue? What was the resolution.

We were told by one service manager that the factory had flooring troubles with Columbus trailers assembled in March 2013 as was ours. The dealer has been sitting on this issue for
Four months. Not a happy camper!
__________________
carguy65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 07:35 PM   #14
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigerbug View Post
fivermann
Curious about the following:
-What will you be towing it with?
-Do you plan to use any type of surge protection? I bought a Progressive Industries 50amp hardwired. Was looking for guidance on where/how to wire it in permanently
-Did you go with generator or gen prep or do you plan to carry portable units? What type
Matt,

I purchased the hardwired with the remote display. Down in the basement there is a access panel on the rear wall. I removed this and wired it in there. I will try to post some pics of it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1175596_10201042903368878_715758001_n.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	48.3 KB
ID:	46878   Click image for larger version

Name:	1233376_10201042893088621_386722996_n.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	46879   Click image for larger version

Name:	1236643_10201042903648885_662172443_n.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	38.3 KB
ID:	46880   Click image for larger version

Name:	64443_10201042905008919_1775999025_n.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	33.3 KB
ID:	46881   Click image for larger version

Name:	1234196_10201042894568658_237051570_n.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	44.8 KB
ID:	46882  

__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79 Nights Camped 2018 4 nights reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 08:29 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigerbug View Post
fivermann
Curious about the following:
-What will you be towing it with?
-Do you plan to use any type of surge protection? I bought a Progressive Industries 50amp hardwired. Was looking for guidance on where/how to wire it in permanently
-Did you go with generator or gen prep or do you plan to carry portable units? What type

I am towing it with a 2013 Silverado 2500HD Diesel
I am going to have the dealer install the progressive Industries 50amp internal surge protector with remote. Not sure where they will install it or put the remote, they said they would contact me to discuss when the time comes to install.
Not getting a generator or portable, not doing any full time camping or dry camping at all....

Did you order yours with the 6 point leveling system? I did but was curious what people might be using for jack pads before and aft of the axles, can the ones from cameo that are 14" work, can they hold that kind of weight without breaking? Don't really want to just put them down in the dirt or gravel... any ideas or suggestions on this? Thanks!
__________________
fivermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 08:33 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYE View Post
Matt,

I purchased the hardwired with the remote display. Down in the basement there is a access panel on the rear wall. I removed this and wired it in there. I will try to post some pics of it.

I like where you have the remote, never would have thought of that area to put it, think I will have them install it there, can't really think of any place else. Is it easy to read at eye level? What all does it tell you besides current amps being used? problem codes etc? How long is the delay once you plug into power before it allows power to the camper? Thanks!
__________________
fivermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:18 PM   #17
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by fivermann View Post
I like where you have the remote, never would have thought of that area to put it, think I will have them install it there, can't really think of any place else. Is it easy to read at eye level? What all does it tell you besides current amps being used? problem codes etc? How long is the delay once you plug into power before it allows power to the camper? Thanks!
The delay is long enough for me to walk from the plug over to my door, and that is about how long it takes to kick on. When you said Eye level, that is if you are standing outside looking in the camper, a few others have installed it in the closet above where I put mine. The display tells you Voltage , Amps, and Frequency on each leg. If there is a fault it will also display an error code. Hope this answers your questions.
__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79 Nights Camped 2018 4 nights reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:35 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYE View Post
The delay is long enough for me to walk from the plug over to my door, and that is about how long it takes to kick on. When you said Eye level, that is if you are standing outside looking in the camper, a few others have installed it in the closet above where I put mine. The display tells you Voltage , Amps, and Frequency on each leg. If there is a fault it will also display an error code. Hope this answers your questions.
yes that answers my questions, thanks for the quick reply. Guess eye level from outside the door is the correct way you would want to read it anyway...

Do you have the leveling system on yours? If so, do you use any certain kind of jack pads for the levels front and back of the axles?

Thanks
__________________
fivermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 01:14 AM   #19
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by fivermann View Post
yes that answers my questions, thanks for the quick reply. Guess eye level from outside the door is the correct way you would want to read it anyway...

Do you have the leveling system on yours? If so, do you use any certain kind of jack pads for the levels front and back of the axles?

Thanks
No I do not as I have the 295 and it was not an option on this unit, The next year I could have got the 4 way. For leveling I use these

RV Leveling Blocks, 8 pack - Intersource D10-227 - Chocks & Levelers - Camping World

I just seen these recently and I want them, I will have a set before the end of summer. I hope this helps.

Amazon.com: Andersen-3604 Camper Leveler: Automotive
__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79 Nights Camped 2018 4 nights reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 07:24 AM   #20
Member
 
Tigerbug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Loveland, Oh
Posts: 33
SYE
Thanks for the info and the pics. Very helpful. I may reach out again once it's time to install my Progressive Industries Surge Protector. I know I can do the wiring just want to be sure I understand line in - line on on the trailer to install correctly in between. The pictures are great. How hard was it to bring the wiring into the trailer for the remote as I like that location. Easy access and it looks like it was factory install.
I see you are in Burton, Mi. I grew up in Flint and left Mi after college in '82 having lived in 10 states since then. Don't get back much anymore now that my parents have passed. I do still have a brother who lives in Clio. Anyway, stay tuned as I am sure I will reach out again on the surge protector once I have total access to the trailer and can take a look at what's going on in there, lots of wires and pipes going everywhere. Are you OK with with a direct email or prefer to keep questions within this thread?
Hitch install is this weekend so while they do that I will play around with the trailer a bit on their lot.
Regards,
__________________

__________________
Matt & Wendy
Aussies Skye & Finn
2014 F350 Diesel, SRW, 4x4
2014 Columbus 320RS
Tigerbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
columbus

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.