Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2015, 10:27 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 41
Thanks for your reply. When we had work done in Texas on our slide-outs, they did not reattach the wiring in the one slide out properly thus a lot of our electrical problems the 3rd time! First was a screw through wiring to the GCFI, then failure to reattach wiring properly back to slideout & then loose red wire in 50 amp. breaker!

Will be interesting to see what your problem ends up to be. Keep us posted & good luck!
__________________

__________________
janice parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:32 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
MJSLou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Huntley, IL
Posts: 23
Ok so I am not a expert, but this is what I saw him to.


He pulled the wiring down from the slide with the TV. He told me that one of the wires running back there had no power when he put his tester on it. What wasn't working was the Fridge, TV and outlets under by the stove, along the back wall and the outlets on the dinette slide. I did have microwave power though.

So he took the wire that fed the microwave and changed it to the one needed to run the Fridge so we could run that on electric instead of gas for the weekend.


Turbs when you say upper mount cabinets do you mean by the stove? Or the ones WAY up high over the inside wall? I checked under and in all the cabinets as did he. I don't think we looked inside the ones on the inside wall though.


I am not there any longer. I'm hoping to get back there next weekend.
__________________

__________________
MJSLou
2015 Palomino Sabre 33CKTS-6
MJSLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 01:27 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 303
Our Flagstaff has two GFCIs, one at the kitchen island (does the back half of the trailer), and the second in the bathroom (does the bathroom, bedroom, and basement). Search for a second one. In the breaker panel, cycle each breaker off and then back on. Some breakers only go 1/2 way off when tripped, and need to be move all the way off, then back on.
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 8528IKWS, 2006 F-350 6.0L
DickiedooFlagman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 01:41 PM   #14
Member
 
Travler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 67
One main GFCI will protect those down stream from main. I had similar problem in my Columbus and tracked it down to a wire that was pinched under the steps. I repaired bad section and reduced length of wire to keep it out of the way of step when putting it down. It was wire that led to recptical for the central Vac.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Travler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 04:57 PM   #15
MC9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 194
I had similar problem, turns out the junction box on the frame that fed the slide had a ground screw that wasn't correct.(it was fried). Snipped off bad ends and rewire nutted and new screw into frame.
__________________
MC9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 05:15 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJSLou View Post
Ok so I am not a expert, but this is what I saw him to.


He pulled the wiring down from the slide with the TV. He told me that one of the wires running back there had no power when he put his tester on it. What wasn't working was the Fridge, TV and outlets under by the stove, along the back wall and the outlets on the dinette slide. I did have microwave power though.

So he took the wire that fed the microwave and changed it to the one needed to run the Fridge so we could run that on electric instead of gas for the weekend.


Turbs when you say upper mount cabinets do you mean by the stove? Or the ones WAY up high over the inside wall? I checked under and in all the cabinets as did he. I don't think we looked inside the ones on the inside wall though.


I am not there any longer. I'm hoping to get back there next weekend.
The reason that worked is because your microwave is not protected it is a home run to the panel. Your problem would be at the junction box. You must have more then one GFI to run your whole trailer? You would need a pretty big breaker to carry all your outlets, 20 or 25 will not do it. If I understand you correctly....
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 07:28 PM   #17
Member
 
dwa1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 58
Bought 2014 - same problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by MJSLou View Post
So the new 33CKTS was delivered in Friday and it wasn't the pure joy we had hoped for. While everything worked in final walk through at the dealership not sure much at delivery.

Main issue. No 110V power on either back slide or back wall. All the outlets say GFI protected but the only outlet with a red button is in the bathroom. Pushing that 100 times did nothing. The delivery tech looked at her for 2 hours and finally gave up. Will hopefully be coming back this week with a full service truck.

Is there any other outlets with red buttons. Neither oboe the delivery guy could find one. So frustrating!!!Attachment 75315
The problem was the wiring was being pinched by a slide. The dealer found it, re-routed the wires and all is now good. There are no other resets on the protected lines. If the dealer follows them out he will find what my dealer found.
__________________
2014 Sabre 33CKTS
2012 F250
dwa1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:31 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwa1000 View Post
The problem was the wiring was being pinched by a slide. The dealer found it, re-routed the wires and all is now good. There are no other resets on the protected lines. If the dealer follows them out he will find what my dealer found.
Are you saying that a saber only has 1 GFI in the whole unit for power as the OP said? What size is your breaker for all your outlet's if I may ask? There should be more then one GFI to protect the outlets, that's just a guess on my part. I can understand a pinch wire but for FR to put all outlets on a 20 amp breaker I can not understand? But every Brand is different and even it seems the same brands are to. That is why it would be good to have a wiring diagram, that they refuse to give anyone.
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:40 PM   #19
Member
 
dwa1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 58
Yes only one but I have seen this in other units and brands. Some how it protects them all. Problem is as you have seen, when it's tripped, they all go out.
__________________
2014 Sabre 33CKTS
2012 F250
dwa1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2015, 01:04 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
MJSLou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Huntley, IL
Posts: 23
No 110v In Slides

So the winner is dwa1000. Ding ding ding. When the slide was extended on delivery wires got hung up and were pulled out of the connector behind the fireplace. New connector was wired in and wires adjusted to allow the slide out to work correctly. Power now restored and it's time to start camping!!!
__________________

__________________
MJSLou
2015 Palomino Sabre 33CKTS-6
MJSLou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
110v, slide, slide out

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.