Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2017, 08:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
No electric heat

Is it me or it it this Palomino (details ion sig)? I've tried every setting on the HVAC panel and the electric heat will not come on, it just blows cold air. I've cycled through all settings and read somewhere last year about setting it to 'auto' where it would heat up from there. I'm plueed into 50 amp, I checked all breakers, they are on. I did not work in January when I first tried it but thought it might just be me. What gives? Take it to the dealer so they can put muddy prints on the carpet and smoke cigarettes in it?
__________________

__________________
2017 Columbus Palomino F366RL
2016 GMC Duramax 2500 HD, PPEI Tuned, B&W Hitch
ShopDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 08:40 AM   #2
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,499
If you do not have a heat pump or heat strip there is no elecrtic heat, just propane

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________

__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79, 2018 84, 2019 47 reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 08:41 AM   #3
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,499
I see this question in our Columbus owners group quite a bit lately

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79, 2018 84, 2019 47 reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 08:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by SYE View Post
If you do not have a heat pump or heat strip there is no elecrtic heat, just propane

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Forest River Forums mobile app

Ok, how do I determine that and is that something that could be added on?
__________________
2017 Columbus Palomino F366RL
2016 GMC Duramax 2500 HD, PPEI Tuned, B&W Hitch
ShopDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 08:52 AM   #5
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,499
On your paperwork from when you bought it. A heat strip can be added to some, not all. I am used to the Dometic Brand, but many are using the Coleman now

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79, 2018 84, 2019 47 reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 09:44 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,279
Send a message via AIM to B and B
Propane is cheap really. We live in the north and camp a lot in late march and april. With the fireplace we might use a 30 lb tank after 4 days for hot water, stove and furnace. Costco fill is $12 or lunch at Ponderosa.
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 10:04 AM   #7
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,499
The great white north

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79, 2018 84, 2019 47 reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 05:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
tugboat369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: MT Airy, NC
Posts: 567
Post a picture of the thermostat it took me some time to figure out the setup also do you have 1 or 2 AC units

If we have the same thing I will talk you through it
Also my furnace board went bad had to replace and have a spare
__________________
Camping from 2008, Life member Good Sam / KOA / iRV2
2014 Columbus 320RS
2011 Ford, F250, 6.7D, SRW
tugboat369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 07:01 PM   #9
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by tugboat369 View Post
Post a picture of the thermostat it took me some time to figure out the setup also do you have 1 or 2 AC units

If we have the same thing I will talk you through it
Also my furnace board went bad had to replace and have a spare
It is a 366RL, so I am guessing Dometic or Coleman
__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79, 2018 84, 2019 47 reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 01:06 PM   #10
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,499
Most of the responses in our Columbus group are the dip switch settings. If you do not have a heat pump or heat strip, the switch settings are wrong. They are located in the AC unit
__________________

__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79, 2018 84, 2019 47 reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.