Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2012, 08:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 58
odd electrical and A/C issues

2010 32bhok. Headed for a short trip this weekend to make sure we were trouble free before our summer trips. After unhooking I cut the docking lights on to shed a little light on the spot and they flickered. Flipped off and on, nothing, back off and on and they were on.

Go inside, we have a master switch on the underside of the cabinet right in the kitchen. Flip on all lights, nothing, off and on, nothing, on, fine. Sunday morning the inside lights did it again.

Get home, unhook head home. go back today with laundry, docking lights do it again but the interior light worked fine.

possible connection with battery? inverter? something loose? what should I be looking for before I go tearing into this thing. We were on full power the entire time, the battery question was more from a circuit perspective, (not an electrician)

yet another odd odd issue is our AC tends to want to freeze up. It did it last summer in NC mountains when a storm came in and the temp dropped. Then again on Friday afternoon. It was not cold by any means, nor was it hot, but the ac ran fine for a few hours, then noticed no air flowing. It sounded like it was still on, but no flow. So I cut it off for fri night, sat am it fired right up. I kept it off though until it was warm in the middle of the day and it ran fine for several hours. Thoughts?
__________________

Deleted Account is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:06 PM   #2
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Don't know about the electrical problems, but normally when an AC freezes up, it is low on freon or whatever they are putting in them nowadays.
__________________

__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 07:46 AM   #3
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,488
Intermittent electrical problems can be a pain to find.
First check battery connections.
Make sure they are not corroded and tight.
After that it's a treasure hunt. The loose connection is where you find it!
I'm not trying to be sarcastic really. Try and recreate the problem and then
start looking for loose connections. Wiggle wires that you can access.
Start at the battery and move back.
There may be a junction box under the trailer near the front that the
battery leads go to.
Look there first.
After that I'd check voltage at the fuses.
Good luck.

An air-conditioner will tend to freeze up if it's low on refrigerant but also can
happen if the fan is on low and it's humid.
Try running the fan on high if you notice it happening again.
IF it freezes up on high you need professional help.
Hope you're still in warranty!!

Good luck!
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:07 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 58
The problem with running on high is that in Charleston last year it was hot. The unit ran almost constantly. I noticed a slow drip in the connection area on the driver side basement. Figured was the shower but after hours of looking the only thing I could determine was that the roof or ac ducts were condensating and sending water down the frame. It definitely was not the shower. When running on high we get beads of water on the interior roof vents.
Deleted Account is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:38 AM   #5
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,488
IF it's very humid I can understand your problem.

I still can't help much but suggest running the fan all the time.
Not auto but just ON. Then set thermostat to comfort setting.

Maybe others with similar humid conditions can offer suggestions.
Good luck!

KyDan
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:40 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Just wondering but have you checked your battery condition and voltage?
If you don't have a volt ohm meter now is the time to invest in one and leave it in the camper.
You'll need it more than you think.
start at your battery and work from there.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:43 AM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
IF it's very humid I can understand your problem.

I still can't help much but suggest running the fan all the time.
Not auto but just ON. Then set thermostat to comfort setting.

Maybe others with similar humid conditions can offer suggestions.
Good luck!

KyDan

Sometimes in humid conditions with everything on top sweating the unit attracts dust and dirt the a/c unit on top needs to be flushed with hose to prevent freezing.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:52 AM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpigate View Post
The problem with running on high is that in Charleston last year it was hot. The unit ran almost constantly. I noticed a slow drip in the connection area on the driver side basement. Figured was the shower but after hours of looking the only thing I could determine was that the roof or ac ducts were condensating and sending water down the frame. It definitely was not the shower. When running on high we get beads of water on the interior roof vents.

Running on high has nothing to do with continuous running.

What you put into your thermostat has everything to do with that.

The recommended setting for your thermostat is 10 degrees BELOW the outside air temperature. You will feel cool when you come in and the AC will cycle properly and will not freeze up. Constant running will freeze up your coils because they never get the chance to melt off.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:53 AM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
My guess since it is an outside light is rust in the socket.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 08:57 AM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
I think the docking lights are led Lou mine are.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:14 AM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
I think the docking lights are led Lou mine are.
a 2010 with OEM LEDs?
Wow...
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:25 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 58
pretty sure the docking lights are led. They look like LED lights.

More worried about the interior lights being flaky....
Deleted Account is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:28 AM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpigate View Post
pretty sure the docking lights are led. They look like LED lights.

More worried about the interior lights being flaky....
I would start looking at connections on the back of the switch and the wire crimps behind the effected light assembly. Sounds like a bad crimp.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:34 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 58
will check the back of the LED switch. then check the back of the master switch inside. Do you guys know which switch I am talking about? See the pic, not actual pic but representation, we do not have 2 switches there. Anyways the switch is what I call the master switch and it will cut on all of the lights in the LR of the camper.

Just getting concerned that we have been through 2 camping seasons and the problems are starting.

Let me ask this, if the connection on the battery is loose, it can cause all of these electrical issues correct? Even though we are running shore power.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	camper.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	13057  
Deleted Account is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:39 AM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpigate View Post
Let me ask this, if the connection on the battery is loose, it can cause all of these electrical issues correct? Even though we are running shore power.
No. With shore power connected, the converter will power everything 12 volt in your camper even without a battery being installed.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:40 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 58
thats what I was thinking... this happens when connected to shore power
Deleted Account is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:43 AM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
I have same unit as you and yes one switch runs all kitchen and living area light.
the other runs light above sink.
I'm thinkin same as Lou ......... bad switch or connection issue.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:47 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 58
I know this is a question that can not be answered ... why the heck after 2 years are switches that have been lightly used starting to go?
Deleted Account is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:50 AM   #19
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
Three words ( made in china)
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 09:54 AM   #20
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,488
Bad switch?
Can you say "made in China"???

I'm thinking loose connection at a switch.
Not necessarily the switch itself.
Can you say "made in a hurry by minimum wage people in Indiana"?

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.


×