Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2013, 08:14 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
amxpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 683
If you have a front AC unit, make sure it is OFF.
Set the other to FURN MODE
Set the desired temperature.
If you set the FAN mode to AUTO, the fan will cycle with the furnace when the temperture drops below the set temperature. (Make sure your LP tanks are turned on)
Hope this works in yours as it does in mine.
__________________

__________________
2013 Palomino Columbus 320RS
2007 Dodge RAM 2500 6.7 Cummins
Reese 15K manual slider
Prodigy
M.I.L. in Florida for good!!
amxpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:15 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 136
I am having a similar issue. My furnace does not come on at all. I have 1 zone, and the unit will not switch to heat. If I set the thermostat to furnance, the fan comes on, and the only air blows out of the A/C ducts. Nothing out of the floor registers.
__________________

__________________
SargeW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 12:03 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Hello,
To say that the manual is not very well written is a huge understatement!!!
I had the same issue when I got our 320rs. I never had a 2 zone thermostat and it really was giving me fits. I read the manual and it just confused me more until I boiled it down to 2 things to do.
First make sure your fan in all modes is set to auto. Do not set it to a certain speed. This will ensure that the fan for the ac and the furnace will only run when the ac or furnace is actually running. On auto you will notice that the fan will run at different speeds depending on what the temp differential is inside the trailer. For instance if you are running the AC and you have it set for 10 degrees cooler than it is inside you will get a higher fan speed than if the temp differential is only 3 degrees. The systems automatically figures it out.
Second. You control all zones by temp. First, I need to tell you that at the end of the day, and I am all done with AC, I set the temp to both zones as high as the t-stat will go. Lets say you want to run the ac, but you only want to run the rear unit. In my trailer that is zone 1. So, I wake up the thermostat and go to the AC mode. I punch up zone 1 and set the temp, and the unit starts. Since zone 2 was already set to max temp it will not come on. If you decide to run zone 2 as well, just set zone 2 down to your preferred temp. When you are done with the AC, just set both temps in both zones to max. The units will stop until you re-set the temps. In this way, you can control each unit to suit your needs.
I know you referenced getting your furnace to work properly. I always set my furnace at night to a low sleeping temp, and then in the morning jack it up until the wife says she is comfortable.
So, the bottom line is this. This thermostat tells the AC or furnace to turn on or off, based on the temps you set. If your AC is working, there is only 2 ways to get it to turn off. Either set the temp higher for the zone you want off or press the off button. Switching to another mode will not turn it off.
I hope I have made myself clear and this helps you to understand how to operate your system.
__________________
travelor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 06:15 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Monroe Wa.
Posts: 47
Travelor2:

Yes, you made yourself perfectly clear. I finally figured it out this morning.

When we woke up this morning, is was 41 inside the trailer and 31 outside with dry snow falling.

I woke up the thermostat, the furnace mode was on and I left the temperature where iwas set at 68, and everything kicked in fine and warmed up the trailer.

What I was doing wrong was raising the temp to 72 and that kicked both the a/c and furnace on.

Now I have it figured out. It works fine.

How do you reprogram the thermostat. Again, there is nothing in the manual how to program anything. A worthless piece of paper.

I actually called Dometic, and they would not even talk to me and said I had to call the dealer and they would talk with them. Now that is great customer service, especially since I told them the dealer service dept was stumped and how the thermastat worked. They suggested I take my trailer to any RV dealer and have them try to help me. That was great as we are on a trip.

Glad I finally figured it out.
__________________
2001 Dodge 3500 4x4 dually
Exhaust brake, 4" SS exhaust
DDP injectors, Edge chip
B&W hitch
2013 Columbus Palomino 295RL
Jon_Celia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 10:31 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
slacktime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Washington
Posts: 21
Thanks for the subject, I will spread the temprature range between the two units when I pick my TT up. I could see where both units could cycle if only set two degrees apart. And deffinatly set for Auto and hope all is well.
__________________
slacktime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:36 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_Celia View Post
Travelor2:

Yes, you made yourself perfectly clear. I finally figured it out this morning.

When we woke up this morning, is was 41 inside the trailer and 31 outside with dry snow falling.

I woke up the thermostat, the furnace mode was on and I left the temperature where iwas set at 68, and everything kicked in fine and warmed up the trailer.

What I was doing wrong was raising the temp to 72 and that kicked both the a/c and furnace on.

Now I have it figured out. It works fine.

How do you reprogram the thermostat. Again, there is nothing in the manual how to program anything. A worthless piece of paper.

I actually called Dometic, and they would not even talk to me and said I had to call the dealer and they would talk with them. Now that is great customer service, especially since I told them the dealer service dept was stumped and how the thermastat worked. They suggested I take my trailer to any RV dealer and have them try to help me. That was great as we are on a trip.

Glad I finally figured it out.
I am happy to hear that you got it figured out. They might as well have written the manual in Russian. Not user friendly at all. Sorry I can't help you with reprograming the thermostat. I was quite happy just to figure this thing out and get it to work. Again, I am glad it now works for you and just maybe this thread was a help to other folks on the board who were having issues.
__________________
travelor2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 09:36 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 136
I called Dometic yesterday and spoke to a tech about the problem I was having. After walking through all of the functions and doing a reset on the thermostat, it was determined that I either have a main board failure on the thermostat, or the furnace itself is defective.

I could check the function of the furnace if I pull out the furnace and grounded the thermostat wires together. I may wait until I get home for that.
__________________

__________________
SargeW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.