Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2014, 08:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 67
Replacement for Dometic Digital Thermostat?

I know there are a lot of real smart people on this planet...

Has anyone reverse-engineered that awful Dometic Digital Thermostat?

All things being equal, I'd like to swap it for a NEST or a Honeywell that I can manage from my iPhone. Doing so would require a conversion box to go from Dometic proprietary to industry standard.


There have to be enough pi$$ed off Dometic digital owners out there to make a business out of this, don't you think?




Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
NeilM108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 08:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
vinmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 1,793
lol. Too complex for me my friend.
__________________

__________________

2015 HW296
2006 HW256 (previous pup)
2013 Chevy Tahoe
Equalizer WDH 1000#
vinmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 09:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 67
me too ;( , but I've met twenty year olds in t-shirts and sandals who could whip that up in a day!


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
NeilM108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 09:07 PM   #4
Plain Old Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Full Timing in South Louisiana
Posts: 1,938
To my knowledge, there just isn't any way to change them due to the 3 wire set up. Now, if you're lucky enough to have 5 or 7 wires (can't remember) run already, then you can change the control box (maybe) in the AC unit itself to the older style, and do the thermostat mod. And even then, I'm not 100% sure you can do that. Pull the t-stat and see if they ran a whole bundle and tucked the remaining wires away.

My solution? My next rig will have Colemans. I used to like Dometic, but ever since they went to this thermostat and new AC, I dislike them.
__________________
John and Rebecca Dickson
Emma-7 / Little John-5 / Iva-1
Full Timing Again, Rev B
2013 Ford F-350 Lariat CC LB PSD
2015 SOB TT - With OC's Awning Poles (#8)
At least in Heaven, RVs will be perfect, and I won't have to keep fixing them.
BigJohnD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 05:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
miatared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 704
I have a Nest at home, it is way overrated... Looking gorgeous is its primary feature, the rest is fluff, IMHO. Not worth the $.

These guys must be laughing all their way to the bank with the $2b+ they got from Google.

There are now better models from Honeywell or Ecobee for example.

Keep in mind all these require a permanent connection to a wifi router to be reachable from any other mobile device, not ideal for an RV I think.

Just my 2 cents.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
Denis & Diane
2010 Sabre 31REDS
Ford F-250 2011
* Happy Campers *
miatared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 09:09 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 67
My Sabre is spends the season in one spot, with Wifi. It would be great if I could remotely cool it down just before we arrive AND be able to turn the AC off remotely when we forget.

I've also heard good things about the Honeywell, but my friends with NEST love it.

The Dometic digital thermostat isn't very good. Temp swings too far.




Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
NeilM108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2014, 11:59 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 12
Did you adjust the acceptable temp range? Can't recall off hand process, but it's listed here.
__________________
NWGaGators is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 11:09 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canon City, Colorado
Posts: 4
I had trouble with my CCC-2 thermostat until I called Dometic and they instructed me how to bypass the "program 1 and 2" and just turn it on and set it for furnace or air conditioning...Must simpler and made me happy...

Bill Agnew
__________________
William Agnew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 11:16 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
I use a honeywell to replace the Coleman in my unit. Just missing slower fan speed for AC, we run high all the time anyways .

Wire for wire works fine.
__________________

__________________
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic, replacement, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.