Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 01:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 39
satellite in bedroom on 320 RS

We have the satellite up and going in the living room, but in the bedroom I am unable to get a signal with the 2nd receiver there. Has anyone figured out how this all is supposed to work as there is a satellite connection there.
__________________

Rogerl1016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 01:56 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
are you sure its an actual sat connection or is it an ota coax or even cable coax ?


TURBS
__________________

TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 39
There are 2 outlets there. One is labelled cable and the other is labelled satellite.
Rogerl1016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:06 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,484
sounds like you may have a splitter issue then or a connection issue at the splitter.
I cant help you tell you where it is sorry but maybe another member might have more experience with your issue.


TURBS
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 03:35 PM   #5
SYE
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
SYE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Burton, MI.
Posts: 4,498
I have a Columbus 295RL and I was told that I could only receieve it in the Living room area and not in the bedroom because it is not wired there only wired from the outside Satellite in to the one up in the cupboard above the TV.
__________________
Scott & Vicki
2018 Silverado 3500HD Dually 6.6L Duramax/Allison
2018 Columbus 366RL 1492 Edition
Camped 2012 19, 2013 110, 2014 129, 2015 97
2016 93, 2017 79, 2018 84, 2019 47 reserved
SYE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:50 PM   #6
Member
 
pwrboatfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Raytown, MO
Posts: 93
My camper is the same way. I can only get satellite in my living room. My wall plate has two coax connectors, one for over the air broadcasts, and one for satellite. One option I looked at was a two tuner receiver box (both Dish and Direct sell them) which means you could put the receiver box in the living room hard-wired to that TV, then on the second tuner, control the TV in the bedroom with its own remote. The signal is sent to the second TV wirelessly. The only down side is the second TV cannot get HD, only the wired TV can get HD.
__________________
2006 Salem 392FKTB PT
Seasonal Camping at Pomme De Terre Lake in MO
pwrboatfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Earth Station's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 627
We also have a 320 RS. The way the satellite is connected ..... if you connect to the outside of the rig.... then to a receiver in the LR.... the that receiver to the SECOND satellite... will give you satellite to the bedroom.

The basement though it has a satellite connection has no cable ran to it.

I run mine through the window in the bedroom. Doesn't make me happy but until we decide to cut a hole in the floor under the dresser that is the way it will be.

I have a home splitter I may try...... It isn't just Columbus' that have this issue
__________________

Felicia & Jeff - Missouri
2013 Columbus - 320 RS 2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2012 Camping 59 DAYS; 2013 50 DAYS; 2014 WAITING
Earth Station is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:52 AM   #8
Member
 
Patrickdana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southwest virginia
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earth Station View Post
We also have a 320 RS. The way the satellite is connected ..... if you connect to the outside of the rig.... then to a receiver in the LR.... the that receiver to the SECOND satellite... will give you satellite to the bedroom.

The basement though it has a satellite connection has no cable ran to it.

I run mine through the window in the bedroom. Doesn't make me happy but until we decide to cut a hole in the floor under the dresser that is the way it will be.

I have a home splitter I may try...... It isn't just Columbus' that have this issue
In my 325RK I installed the sat splitter behind the wall in the entertainment center. I pulled the ant/cable out and placed it behind it. I connected the sat line to the bedroom to the splitter and also ran a RG6 cable to the sat connection in the basement. I followed the existing wiring bundle to the outside of the unit and along the frame to the basement. I also replace the splitter in the basement with an AB coax switch to switch between cable and ant. This greatly increased the quality of the ant signal to the bedroom. Hope this helps. We have been our 325 since August 5 2012 and love it.
__________________
For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. 2Timothy 1:7
Patrickdana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:02 AM   #9
Member
 
Patrickdana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southwest virginia
Posts: 87
I might add that both Direct and Dish require a satellite splitter and will not work with an off the shelf splitter.
__________________
For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. 2Timothy 1:7
Patrickdana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:25 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
captbenjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 124
I can't remember if I have a satellite jack in the bedroom or not. I'm offshore now so can't look. I did however remove the panel behind the convenience box where the satellite in jack is located and would imagine it would be very easy to install a splitter there and run another jack under the dresser as Earth Station referred too if needed.

What I've seen before is that one receiver basically controlled all televisions in the camper. Basically a jumper line from one tv to the next. If you wanted to add another receiver box you had to run a new line off of a splitter from the input jack.
captbenjy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 07:05 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Regarding the 320rs. I also have had a problem connecting my satellite. So far what I have found is that only the jack in the LR connects to the outside connection. There is another satelite jack in the LR and BR but they do not connect.Also, the jack in the gararge has no cable attached. My thinking is that the RV is pre-wired for a roof satellite antenna and that is what the 2 dead connections are for. As far as the garage is concerned, I think that is just a cruel joke to drive me nuts. Can anyone tell me if my guesses are correct?
ddokupil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 06:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Earth Station's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 627
you are right. Only the LR connection works. I have a splitter that I will play with once it gets warm enough to see if I can't bring in the signal to the LR and then with a house splitter.... split to stay in LR and send to BR. You are also correct that there is no cable to Basement. Will post on forum and on FB page if I can get it to work.....
__________________

Felicia & Jeff - Missouri
2013 Columbus - 320 RS 2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2012 Camping 59 DAYS; 2013 50 DAYS; 2014 WAITING
Earth Station is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:34 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Jimmerinwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 111
If there's no sat connection in the br, you can run a coax out of the receiver in the living room to the cable input behind the tv in the living room, outside at the connection panel, run a jumper from one cable input to the other, connect br tv to cable input, you will mirror the lr receiver to the bedroom. If you have a UHF remote, you'll still be able to change channels from the bedroom, if its an ir remote you'll have to point it at the receiver.
__________________
Some days I wake "Grumpy", Some days I just let her sleep......(Ray Scott)
Jimmerinwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:16 AM   #14
Member
 
Patrickdana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southwest virginia
Posts: 87
I placard a direct tv splitter behind the tv in the living room and ran a cable to the basement of my 325 columbus. I followed the existing wiring. From the basement you can get to the bedroom tv.
__________________
For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. 2Timothy 1:7
Patrickdana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:37 AM   #15
sdw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
I found sat connectors on the roof under a fake sewer vent cover over our bed.
Two coaxal cables.
sdw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:49 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Burlington, Iowa
Posts: 26
What brand or sat. service do you have? I do know that the sat. cable is orange. If you take the cover off behind the main tv, make sure you have it hooked up to the orange one.
__________________

bobbyv53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bed

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


×