Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2015, 10:41 PM   #1
Member
 
North49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 38
Surge protectors

Need to get a surge protector that will work with 50 amp/30amp and my generator. Any opinions appreciated


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Brent/Barb -Zoe/Whizabeth wonder dogs
Palimino Columbus 320RS
2014 Dodge Ram 2500 6.7 Diesel
Calgary, Alberta The Stampede City
"The only things in life worth keeping are the things you give away"
North49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 10:49 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,478
Quote:
Originally Posted by North49 View Post
Need to get a surge protector that will work with 50 amp/30amp and my generator. Any opinions appreciated


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
A 50 amp will work for everything. You will just need the dog bone adapters to match the power cable.
__________________

__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 10:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
pjones1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: North Texas
Posts: 140
Progressive Hard Wired with remote display, install it and forget about it

http://www.progressiveindustries.net/ems_hw50c.htm


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2011 Puma Unleashed 27SBU - SOLD
2013 Sabre 32bhok-6 - SOLD
2012 Ford F250 6.2 - SOLD
2017 Heartland Cyclone 3800
2016 Ford F350 6.7 DRW
B&W Companion
pjones1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 11:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Alabama
Posts: 189
I would second that. Progressive hard wire....reliable protection between all terminals And lifetime warranty I think......
__________________
Zolin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 07:32 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
I agree with all these comments.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 07:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
StoneyG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 212
SurgeGuard

We've used SurgeGuard for several years and have been saved with it a couple of times. If you have a generator and no transfer switch its not much more expensive getting a hard wired combination surge guard and transfer switch.
__________________
StoneyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 08:27 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
mark0224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,443
Sat down a year ago and over analysed this myself Progressive won, type is your choice. You can get wired or an external drawbacks, wired goes with your unit if you sell or trade and you have to start all over, external can be stolen but good lock and cable makes the thief visible and take more time. Progressive has the best warranty as far as I could see.
__________________
Think about things before you do them make life easier not harder.
mark0224 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 08:43 AM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark0224 View Post
Sat down a year ago and over analysed this myself Progressive won, type is your choice. You can get wired or an external drawbacks, wired goes with your unit if you sell or trade and you have to start all over, external can be stolen but good lock and cable makes the thief visible and take more time. Progressive has the best warranty as far as I could see.
I put twist lock connectors on my hardwired so it's easily removable if I change units.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 08:53 AM   #9
geezer with gadgets
 
757Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 461


Newbie question about portable unit. Can I keep the unit in my storage bin and use my 30 amp extension cord to go to the pedestal? Or do I have to plug the unit into the pedestal directly? Thanks.
__________________


Sent from my Atari 2600
2011 Sunseeker 3170ds "Ladybug"
2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee TOAD
Days camped 2015: 37; 2016: 66; 2017: 86
757Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2015, 08:54 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
rattleNsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Connecticut
Posts: 1,571
Do a search on surge protectors. Plenty of opinions.
__________________

__________________
2010 Cedar Creek 5th Wheel 34SATS "The Beast"
2006 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0L Diesel
2003 Harley Heritage Softail "Hogzilla"
1986 Marriage to "Wifey" (patience of a saint)
rattleNsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.