Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2019, 08:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 700
Want to add 12V recepticle

I am thinking about adding a 12V receptacle above my wife's side of the bed for her C-Pap. I want to place this close to her overhead reading lamp so I can tap off those wires. Currently we run a really long cable out the bedroom over to the charging station, about 10 feet.

Do you guys think I need a separate fuse for the receptacle or will the fuse that is already in the circuit for the reading lights work. All the lights in the bedroom are usually out when she turns it on and they are all LEDs.


Thanks
__________________

__________________

2013 Ford F-350 SD Diesel, 4X4, Crew Cab, Lariat
Sabre 2014 32RCTS, Pullrite Superglide 2900 18K
Davidceder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 10:41 AM   #2
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 6,597
It all depends on what size fuse is in the existing circuit, but I suspect that it is probably a 15 amp which would be fine.

I assume that the light is locally switched so getting power when it's off isn't an issue.
__________________

__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 10:56 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,553
the lights are 12 volt the outlets are 110. Need to come off an existing recept and hope that the circuit it is on does not get overloaded with other things.
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 11:02 AM   #4
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 1,644
Most likely everything is off when she is sleeping, so little chance of overloading any circuits.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 11:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 700
Thanks

Thanks for the replies. The lights are indeed locally switched and are on a 15 amp fuse.
__________________

2013 Ford F-350 SD Diesel, 4X4, Crew Cab, Lariat
Sabre 2014 32RCTS, Pullrite Superglide 2900 18K
Davidceder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 11:37 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,553
there is a big difference between a 12 volt light on a 15 amp fuse and a 110 volt outlet on a 15 amp breaker. its my understanding that cpap machines are 110 volt?
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 11:44 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 700
It is 12 V into the CPAP

The power brick on the C-PAP takes 110V in but puts out 12V DC to the unit. Been running it for years on a 12V jury rigged setup. Just want to do something cleaner.
__________________

2013 Ford F-350 SD Diesel, 4X4, Crew Cab, Lariat
Sabre 2014 32RCTS, Pullrite Superglide 2900 18K
Davidceder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 12:26 PM   #8
PPST Wannabe
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,023
I’m confused......it doesn’t take much.

Does your CPAP machine need 12 volt DC OR 110 volt AC to operate?
I’m not asking if it produces 12 volt for whatever, but rather what does the CPAP
machine REQUIRE to operate.

I’m also confused by the term “power brick”.
__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 01:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,079
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davidceder View Post
I am thinking about adding a 12V receptacle above my wife's side of the bed for her C-Pap. I want to place this close to her overhead reading lamp so I can tap off those wires. Currently we run a really long cable out the bedroom over to the charging station, about 10 feet.

Do you guys think I need a separate fuse for the receptacle or will the fuse that is already in the circuit for the reading lights work. All the lights in the bedroom are usually out when she turns it on and they are all LEDs.


Thanks
Proably won't be any hot wire at the light with the switch off.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 01:55 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Are you sure about the voltage? My CPAP uses 110 volt vac to power the “brick” which converts the 110 to 12 vac.
I purchased a 12 vdc to 12 vac “brick” for use in my trailer.
I haven’t tried it out yet but looking to power the same way you are. Except for 2 bricks. I’d be interested in knowing how that works for you.

After posting I had a second thought and looked at the input / output of my “bricks”. They are marked.: original = “input 110 vac with an output of 24 vac 3.5 amps. New brick = “input 12 vdc 13.5 amps with an output of 24 vac. No output amps mentioned on the label. Sorry for any confusion I might have caused.
__________________

Clyde M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.