Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2015, 08:18 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Driftwood RV Resort
Posts: 6
Well after pulling the stairs out I was able to access my central vacuum and it wasn't plugged in. Now new problem, it runs non-stop once its plugged in. I was wondering if anyone knew where the Vacuum Relay is located, it seems to be the place to check with this condition.
__________________

__________________
Alex R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 11:34 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
In my Columbus you can remove the step above the hose connection to access the vac there is an AC receptacle next to the motor where it should be plugged into. The cover over the hole where the hose connects acts as an on/off switch when the hose is not connected. Lift it up to turn it on then slide it down to turn it off.
__________________

__________________
MCPO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 12:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: oakdale, ca
Posts: 289
The system can be turned on with out the hose buy pulling it up. This is for cleaning up from hand sweeping. To turn it off push the outlet down towards the floor. What Columbus do you have I have the f370fl.
__________________
j free is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 05:35 PM   #14
Member
 
fedexflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 36
My actual unit with the bag is underneath in the cargo compartment, just about directly under the cabin hose connection. If the removable door holding in the bag is not on correctly the unit will not run,
__________________
USCG Ret
2011 Sportscoach Pathfinder 405FK
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
fedexflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 09:23 PM   #15
Dave on Burton
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Snellville, ga
Posts: 9
There is not a on/off switch on the vac. If it runs continually remove the step. Remove the vac, remove the plastic end and you will see the circuit board with the relay. Bump it with the screwdriver handle. They seem to get stuck after sitting for a while without any use
__________________
Dmitchem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 11:55 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: CT
Posts: 291
Tried ours for the first time last week. It runs but no suction. Haven't had a chance to investigate yet but anyone else have a similar problem?
__________________
2015 Ram 3500 CC SRW SB 6.7 Diesel Powered Baby!
2015 Sabre 36QBOK-7

2015 Nights Camped: 23
2016 Nights Camped: 27
2017 Nights Camped: 28
mikeysotp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 09:47 PM   #17
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeysotp View Post
Tried ours for the first time last week. It runs but no suction. Haven't had a chance to investigate yet but anyone else have a similar problem?

First time after installing mine was those exact symptoms- longest story shortest, I didn't have the container closed properly after I installed the bag. I felt like quite the dummy because I took down my basement wall and uninstalled it before I smacked my head and thought, "duh!"
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 12:04 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 49
We have a 325RL and our vac doesn't work either. It comes on when you lift up the flap to plug in the hose but once open enough to attach the hose it shuts off. I got so frustrated with it I gave up and got my old bissel stick vac out of the house to use. It's on the list of fixes when we take it back to the dealer for repairs.
__________________
jlsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 08:52 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 323
You can not be more wrong, the switch is in the cover/ wall mount if after you open the cover look at the wall plate you will see a small black piece of plastic sticking out, if you push it in the van will shut off. If the unit is not working, the owner needs to check hat there is power to the unit, check all plugs and circuit breakers, after that if new take it back and have the unit replaced, if not new and handi pull it out and try and fix it. It is not rocket science folks
__________________
B.Smith
2010 Cedar Creek Silverback 35ts
2001 GMC 2500HD w/ Allison & 8.1
silverback 35ts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2015, 03:53 PM   #20
RECAT
 
REBCAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: ENTERPRISE, AL
Posts: 42
Our in the 320 rs worked fine until we pluged in to shore power 2 months ago. I opened the door and the vacuum was runing and would not shut off. Pulled the circuit breaker until I could pull up steps and unplug the vacuum. After tinkering I determine the slide/plug in switch had failed. I installed a switch beside it and ran he power wire to it. Works great, except when my 2 year old grand son saw, he loves all button switches etc. He loved turning it on and off but that is ok by Papa.
__________________

__________________
2013 GMC SIERRA SLT 3500 HD CC Z71 4X4
HENSLEY BDR3 TRAILER SAVER AIR RIDE HITCH
BLUE OX BED SAVER
2014 COLUMBUS 320RS
WAR EAGLE !!
REBCAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.