Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-14-2011, 12:48 PM   #1
Here to Help

WIFI question for Owners by SabreSam

Dear Owners,
I would like to know how many of you utilize WIFI services avaliable at campgrounds? If you don't, why? Are signials weak? Do you utilize a Verizon (or other brands) wireless card? I'm assuming that most owners are traveling with some type of computer/Ipad/smart phone. Give me your comments and input. Thanks.
SabreSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 12:56 PM   #2

Our kids took laptops to play on during our trip to our campground. When we got there, we noticed they were all sitting around the fire with laptops in their laps. One had found the wifi and was using it. At that point, their laptops were confiscated and not seen until the drive home. As an IT professional, I want to get away from technology when I'm camping. A cell phone is around in case of an emergency or if I need directions, but other than that, it is us and the outdoors.

I think the WiFi is handy if there is something you need, but I would/will not use it for causal internet surfing.
Old 10-14-2011, 02:48 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team

If you have a us cellular android phone you do not need a "card"
you can pay 25.00 a month extra and make your phone a wifi hot spot.
my wife does this with great success since she has to have access to the world wide web 24/7 for work purposes. Cards are 65.00 a month and up.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 03:38 PM   #4
JAYCO Representative

Great question Sam! I'm very interested in the feedback here as well...
Wildcat Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:25 PM   #5

I use it wherever available .
2019 FR Vibe 28RL
Rugged Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:36 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou