Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 01-21-2018, 07:26 AM   #101

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
There is no doubt we are not teaching the younger generation vocational skill sets.
Many programs have gone away from our schools and many parents seem to be too busy with their own lives to teach their children.

With that said, this isn't anything new.
I am simply amazed at the number of daily posts on this forum (and others) where someone has no clue about a basic problem/repair.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper View Post
I agree with 5picker. I graduated HS in '72, my youngest brother graduated in '80. The HS we went to had the following courses.

Electronics and electrical (5 courses).
Metals shop, metal fabrication, gas and ac/dc welding (6 courses).
Drawing and drafting (2 courses in drafting).
Auto maintenance and auto mechanics (6 courses - maintenance, auto electronics, engine mechanics 1 & 2, manual transmissions, automatic transmissions).
Wood shop & cabinet making, (3 courses).

Advanced cabinet making (the 3rd course) students went to my uncle's cabinet making shop next door to the HS.

Students in metal fabrication and auto mechanics classes went to a separate building to maintain school buses and work on their own cars/trucks.

Metal fabrication classes built a greenhouse when I was in electricity class, my electricity class wired the greenhouse. In my junior year I was a student aid & my senior year I was a lab/teaching assistant.

To get to the point, those courses are no longer taught in that HS. The greenhouse is gone and the auto mechanic building is used for storage for the school board members, in other words full of personal junk.

It's a shame. That HS had the highest ranking in the state for vocational skills courses.