Old 11-10-2013, 10:18 AM   #1

Tenkara

Admittedly I'm still a novice fly fisherman, but I'm quickly becoming "disenchanted" with all the gizmos and doo-dads associated with the sport. I like to keep it simple and trying to weave my way through the small, rocky, brushy streams here in Western NC with a 10' rod and all the paraphernalia was beginning to become a chore instead of a pastime.

I started looking for an alternative simpler way and came across Tenkara. On the Tenkara USA site it's defined as:

"...The simple Japanese method of fly-fishing where only a rod, line and fly are used.
Eleven to fourteen-foot long rods telescope down to a mere 20 inches. The ultra-portable gear and minimalist nature of the sport make it ideal for going farther as you explore your favorite stream. Whether it is fly-fishing while backpacking, or fishing for fishing sake, Tenkara shows us that simplicity can be liberating."

I've watched some video and done some reading. I'm wondering if any other "fisherpersons" on here have any experience with this method?

I'd appreciate any advice or comments on this method.

Hud

Old 11-10-2013, 10:45 AM   #2

Very similar to method I've used for crappie and bluegills, in brush congested hot spots.

I just use a conventional fly rod, a short length of mono tied to the top guide, sans tippet. The bait is then lowered into the limbs of the brush, where a conventional cast would result in a snag. When a fish is hooked, you just raise the rod straight up. There are conventional rods made for this type of fishing, too, and all are reminiscent of the days of a line tied off on a long stick or limb.

It's a great way to reduce loss of terminal tackle, and yes, the easy access does allow more meat for the table. However, for me . . . and perhaps it's only me . . . the thrill of the fight, even that of a smaller species of fish . . . is greatly diminished. It;s more hook and yank. And, hook a decent bass on that rig, and try and hog it out!