Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   Appliances and Electronics (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/)
-   -   Hard start capacitor (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/hard-start-capacitor-109433.html)

RMFrawley 05-29-2016 06:38 PM

Hard start capacitor
 
hi,
i was on the phone with a service man at airxcel and mentioned that i put a hard start capacitor on by coleman-mach 3+ac. he jump in saying, not to do this because it will shorten the life of the ac. "we would of added it if we felt it was needed". yet the schematic on the ac panel shows a hard start in a dotted outline connected to the run capacitor. so i am really confused about the capacitor i just added. what is the bottom line about adding the hard start?
will the extra power shorten the life span of the ac? should i disconnect on park power and only connect when using the generator.
thanks,
russ

doc73 05-29-2016 06:46 PM

People have been answering your hard start question I your other posts.

Mine works fine, will not hurt anything. I use it regularly and no matter whether on geni or shore power.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

RMFrawley 05-29-2016 06:58 PM

i only had one reply that answered my post. but none about the long term effect.

Todouble 05-29-2016 07:35 PM

Hard starts won't hurt your ac! Plain and simple!!

FJRDarksider 06-24-2016 12:26 PM

I just added the SPP6 to my Dometic unit......it only had the run cap to begin with. No wonder my 3000W Hyundai portable unit wouldn't do it :-(
Now it runs it without any problems with only a slight load draw once the compressor kicks in. Cost me $12 ($20 shipping) in Canada from Amazon.ca and was at my door in two days!! Took more time to remove the cover than it did to install it. I'm very happy I don't have to buy a new genny!!!
Like everyone elses schematic, it shows the hard start cap as an option on some models. Can't see how it would harm the unit. If anything it should prolong the life of the compressor by preventing low voltage draw issues......but I'm certainly not an electrician or HVAC specialist :-)

Kuba 06-25-2016 11:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FJRDarksider (Post 1237689)
I just added the SPP6 to my Dometic unit......it only had the run cap to begin with. No wonder my 3000W Hyundai portable unit wouldn't do it :-(
Now it runs it without any problems with only a slight load draw once the compressor kicks in. Cost me $12 ($20 shipping) in Canada from Amazon.ca and was at my door in two days!! Took more time to remove the cover than it did to install it. I'm very happy I don't have to buy a new genny!!!
Like everyone elses schematic, it shows the hard start cap as an option on some models. Can't see how it would harm the unit. If anything it should prolong the life of the compressor by preventing low voltage draw issues......but I'm certainly not an electrician or HVAC specialist :-)

Hey, which one did you get?? Im in Ontario btw

FJRDarksider 06-26-2016 01:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kuba (Post 1239272)
Hey, which one did you get?? Im in Ontario btw

right here

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Worked great!

aceinspp 06-26-2016 02:02 PM

Looking to do. Any instructions come with installing the capacitor? Later RJD

FJRDarksider 06-26-2016 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aceinspp (Post 1239746)
Looking to do. Any instructions come with installing the capacitor? Later RJD

Just a photo.......connect the black wires (Doesn't matter which) on the SPP6 to the terminals, that have a red and white wire into it, on the run cap.

My run cap had had three terminals.....

One with a brown wire
One with three white wires (Connect one black wire here)
One with a red wire (Connect one black wire here)

I was apprehensive at first but it really is that easy.

Hope this helps

Kuba 06-29-2016 11:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FJRDarksider (Post 1239726)

Tnx, ordered!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.