Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   Appliances and Electronics (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/)
-   -   Refrigerator's Freezer Not Cold Enough (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/refrigerators-freezer-not-cold-enough-110490.html)

Coffee46506 06-10-2016 12:25 PM

Refrigerator's Freezer Not Cold Enough
 
We have taken our new TT out now a couple of times. Our problem is not the refrigerator, but the freezer. The refrigerator seems to work fine at keeping the items cold, however, the freezer doesn't seem to keep up to par, and there doesn't see to be a way of adjusting the temperature just for that. We have freezer/refrigerator thermometers in both and can not seem to get the freezer up to a "safe" temperature for frozen foods. I've seen several comments on the refrigerators, but anyone else having a problem with the freezer?

MNtraveler 06-11-2016 10:13 AM

Do you have a slider temperature control in the refrigerator? If so, slide it upwards further. It should control both units. Make sure you don't get too cold in the refrigerator so things like vegetables and fruit don't start freezing.


Land of 10,000 Lakes
2016 Forester MBS 2401R

Coffee46506 06-11-2016 08:18 PM

Thank you!
 
Thank you for your reply! We actually slid it all the way up, refrigerator was then too cold, however, the freezer neer got cold enough. It wasn't stuffed full, and we turned it on two days in advance before leaving. We did not continuously open it either. We even changed the freezer thermometer to check that it was working ok, and it measured the same as the original. (Not to mention the little icecream cups that we had in there were soft and melty at best :) ).

Herk7769 06-11-2016 10:18 PM

6 Attachment(s)
So the freezer is not cold enough, yet the fridge part will freeze your salad?

Check the freezer door seals
Check the floor of the fridge to ensure levelness (Fridge needs to be absolutely level for liquid ammonia to flow back to the boiler)
Check the defroster is turned off (switch in freezer door - some units).
Check the ammonia boiler for a yellow stain, (leaking ammonia).
Does this only happen on AC power, Propane only, or both?

Coffee46506 06-12-2016 06:43 AM

Thank you!
 
OMGosh! You are the Bomb! Lol! Pictures and all! We will be going out later today and checking all your suggestions! We have not had an opportunity to run the fridge on propane yet, but we will try that out. Newbies to all of this, didn't think we would run into something like this being a brand new TT. Thank you for the suggestions and we will try it out to see if we can get this figured out before we leave again!

pdqparalegal1 06-12-2016 02:13 PM

Most cool better on propane but new unit should freeze anything in freezer. Good luck!

Wolverine 1945 06-13-2016 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coffee46506 (Post 1223375)
We have taken our new TT out now a couple of times. Our problem is not the refrigerator, but the freezer. The refrigerator seems to work fine at keeping the items cold, however, the freezer doesn't seem to keep up to par, and there doesn't see to be a way of adjusting the temperature just for that. We have freezer/refrigerator thermometers in both and can not seem to get the freezer up to a "safe" temperature for frozen foods. I've seen several comments on the refrigerators, but anyone else having a problem with the freezer?

Are you keeping your freezer as full as you can ???
We keep ours full by keeping ex ice in it !!!

Coffee46506 06-13-2016 08:13 AM

Thank you!
 
Actually, the answer to your question is: No. I did not have it full, as I thought that the air may have to circulate to keep the items cooler. This is definitely a learning thing for us! :)

Coffee46506 06-13-2016 08:23 AM

Sorry it took a bit to get back to everyone, but our internet service has been wonky. Checked the seals with a dollar bill...all secure. Floor of fridge is level, bubble of level was dead center. No defroster switch, no stains. Still haven't check the propane vs. electric, will be doing that soon. Freezer was not packed full, but have learned something new on that one and will try that the next time around. I did contact our dealership and spoke to the guys in the shop. Was told by them there is no way to adjust the freezer. Glad it's all still under warranty, perhaps we just got a refrigerator that doesn't work right. We will be taking it in once again for warranty work, and I will have that on the list for them for sure if all else fails!

Wolverine 1945 06-13-2016 08:24 AM

Any freezer will be more efficient if they are full,,, home or RV !!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.