Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   General Tech and Repair (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f110/)
-   -   Trailer plugged into my house (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f110/trailer-plugged-into-my-house-12634.html)

cbrown 05-03-2011 08:09 PM

Trailer plugged into my house
 
Hey everyone this is my first post here I have a quick question I have a Cherokee light 28a, I am trying to get power from my house to my trailer how do I go about doing so. I have a connector that will connect a regular 110 line to the line in on the trailer. I was looking at the fuse panel and it showing me 2 breakers 1 being 20 and 1 being 30 on the main lines. to me that means 50 amp breaker I will need a 50 amp line coming from my house or I will be popping the circuit at my house correct? is there some type of invetor i need to switch so I can use the AC from house?

Thank you in advanced !

dezolen 05-03-2011 08:15 PM

You can get an adapter for 30 amp cord to 15 amp at any camp store or Walmart.
Fine for charging battery, running lights and fridge.
Just don't run the air conditioning and electric water heat.

cbrown 05-03-2011 08:23 PM

Is there an inverter that needs to be switched ? or does it switch automatically

flyrotor 05-03-2011 08:41 PM

automatic

cbrown 05-03-2011 08:53 PM

Thanks guys

cbrown 05-04-2011 08:22 AM

So If i wanted to run the air and water heater I would need a 50 amp line coming from my house correct? Are most camp grounds now a days 50 amps?

DF5.4 05-04-2011 08:30 AM

You should be able to run the A/C on a 30 amp plug. The CGs I've been to have 30A at most sites. 50A is usually for the big class A and 5th wheels.

cbrown 05-04-2011 08:49 AM

In my fuse box I have two breakers on the main labeled line one is a 30 and one is a 20 does that sound right?

08flagvlite 05-04-2011 09:32 AM

The 20 amp fuse was probably added for the AC or water heater. Your Cherokee light is a 30 amp service. get the plug adapter from RV male to 110v standard wall plug, and you're in business. I personally even run my air on that setup, but just for an hour or two while unloading from a trip, at times. If you plug the camper into a GFI breaker at home; it may trip the breaker- some do, and some don't. I plug mine into a non GFI, and it works fine. Don't go any longer than the supplied wire, or usually the wires will get very hot. Good luck, Randy

cbrown 05-04-2011 10:07 AM

Randy do you know why the GFI outlets trip?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.