Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   General Tech and Repair (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f110/)
-   -   Clicking noise before furnace starts (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f110/clicking-noise-before-furnace-starts-172765.html)

stoneyfork 10-21-2018 10:46 AM

Clicking noise before furnace starts
 
I have a 2015 Forrest River Puma toy hauler. We use it mainly in summer months so I don't have much experience with the furnace. This week it has gotten cold enough that we are using the furnace and I have noticed a clicking noise that starts 10 to 15 seconds prior to the furnace coming on. At first I thought it was the ignitor but then I discovered the sound is coming from the ceiling AC unit. It sounds like a relay clicking. Everything seems to be working OK but I am wondering if this is normal or is there trouble ahead.

Flybob 10-21-2018 10:56 AM

If you have a Dometic Thermostat, check to see that you have the Fan set to auto. If set to low or high, the circulation fan in the AC may run when the furnace is operating. The igniter in the furnace will also make a clicking noise, but is usually not noticeable as the furnace fan should start and runs for a short period of time before the igniter fires.

stoneyfork 10-21-2018 11:03 AM

Thanks for your reply. The fan is set to auto and the AC fan is not running but that is where the clicking sound is coming from.

Slg 10-21-2018 11:07 AM

2019 grey wolf 23mk. Where is thermostat for propane furnace.

formerFR 10-21-2018 11:09 AM

does your unit have Heat Pumps or Electric heat within the roof units?

stoneyfork 10-21-2018 11:14 AM

Neither, AC in the ceiling and furnace in the floor.

stoneyfork 10-21-2018 11:17 AM

On the wall. same thermostat for both AC and furnace

formerFR 10-21-2018 11:26 AM

sounds about the same as the rest of us, but what the 'clicking' is might be a mystery, UNLESS this is a backfeed of 12v power from the starting of the furnace 'ignition' back to the 12v wiring from the THermostat to the roof Air Condtioner.
While the air condtioners are 120v units, they 'start' with the 12v signal from the Thermostat... maybe there is a connection between the 12v signal within the Thermostat that is also sending a signal to the air conditioner while the furnace igniter starts.

This may lie behind the Thermostat, and how it was wired. There should be two separate 12v lines 'out', to the Furnace and to the Air Conditioner(s), and maybe they were somehow combined, or they are touching.

stoneyfork 10-21-2018 11:33 AM

Thanks, I'll check that.

lesptr 10-21-2018 11:51 AM

2 Attachment(s)
I had this exact problem. Re-initializing and setting the temperature differential to D2 fixed the problem.
Screen shots from the manual
Attachment 189665

Attachment 189666


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.