Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   Modifications and Updates (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f68/)
-   -   Help Replacing Compartment Locks (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f68/help-replacing-compartment-locks-47766.html)

Tent2TT 09-13-2013 06:56 AM

Help Replacing Compartment Locks

My outside compartment storage use the basic locks. I say basic because the doors do not stay closed unless you turn the key and lock them. When camping I find myself needing to access these compartments regularly, probably because I am a newbie and it takes several hours before camp is all setup and ready to enjoy (lol).

I would like to swap out these basic locks and use a push compartment lock style. Would this style of lock keep the compartment door closed by just pushing the door closed and not having to lock it with a key, but lockable when needed? Do these push locks require a separate latch strike plate that needs to be installed, and if so would it be fairly easy to do? Would I possible have to drill the existing cutout to a larger diameter?

youroo 09-13-2013 07:03 AM

This Mod has been done by some Members on here. Do a search uder Mods. I know some had detailed Pics. Youroo!!

iluvlcy 09-13-2013 10:52 AM

We replaced all our locks with combi locks, and have been very happy with them, no keys!

KMP44 09-13-2013 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tent2TT (Post 464311)
My outside compartment storage use the basic locks. I say basic because the doors do not stay closed unless you turn the key and lock them. When camping I find myself needing to access these compartments regularly, probably because I am a newbie and it takes several hours before camp is all setup and ready to enjoy (lol).