Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   FR3 (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f232/)
-   -   electrical hook-up (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f232/electrical-hook-up-56039.html)

BarbaraG 03-11-2014 07:43 AM

electrical hook-up
 
I'm planning on staying on a friend's property which has several buildings on it. We're trying to figure out where I could do the electrical hook-up. There is an outlet available that has both a 220 V and 110 V connector. How do I know if I can hook up to either of these and draw enough current without blowing a breaker or worse?

Can I use the 220 V? I do have a surge protector, for what that's worth. Not sure that's relevant. I know I would need an adapter since what I have now is a 30 amp connector.

I don't use a lot of power-hungry appliances. No toaster, coffee machine, hair dryer, etc. Main draws would be the microwave (only use for heating coffee), and either the furnace fan or electric space heater if it's cool enough.

Any experience with this kind of thing?

Thanks,

Barbara
2014 FR3 30DS

iceblaze580 03-11-2014 07:46 AM

Whatever you do do not hook up to 220 volt you will risk damage to your rigs electrical components

Crabbyguy 03-11-2014 07:50 AM

I'll seriously second what iceblaze said. Use the 110 and find out how many amps it can handle.

Kaadk 03-11-2014 07:51 AM

Get a 30 to 15 adapter and use the 110. Much safer and you should have plenty of juice for everything but the AC. Just don't try to run the microwave and furnace at the same time.

If you plug into the 220 without your protector you'll fry most of it. And even with I've heard stories (on this forum) about still being fried when using a cheaper protector.

BarbaraG 03-11-2014 07:59 AM

Thanks so much... and for the quick replies. Okay, I get it... no 220. I think I may already have the 30 to 15 adapter... the 15 will just look like the normal two prong outlet with ground post, right?

Yes, I figured I will not be able to use the microwave and heater/furnace at the same time. Not a big deal as I really only use the microwave for reheating morning coffee. My main usage is TV, lights, and computer. Oh, the refrigerator, too.

Thanks again everyone.

B

jwedell 03-11-2014 08:03 AM

A 30 amp service to a tt is always 115 volts (3 prongs). Never connect it to 230 volts (Unless you modify the outlet you can't anyway). A 50 amp service is always 230 volts (4 prongs). Just plug it into a dedicated 15 or 20 amp outlet with an adaptor and you'll be fine.

Crabbyguy 03-11-2014 08:04 AM

Quote:

the 15 will just look like the normal two prong outlet with ground post, right?
Yes.

Kaadk 03-11-2014 08:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarbaraG (Post 560324)
Thanks so much... and for the quick replies. Okay, I get it... no 220. I think I may already have the 30 to 15 adapter... the 15 will just look like the normal two prong outlet with ground post, right?

Yes, I figured I will not be able to use the microwave and heater/furnace at the same time. Not a big deal as I really only use the microwave for reheating morning coffee. My main usage is TV, lights, and computer. Oh, the refrigerator, too.

Thanks again everyone.

B

Yep, the 15 is a standard, regular household plug. I believe you said you had multiple buildings? If you find you are in fact pulling too much power (i.e. the breaker/fuse trips) then try plugging into one building, and running an extension cord from another building into the rig through window or something to power things like the computer.

Still can't run the AC though. Too much load on a single plug.

Wiscampsin 03-11-2014 08:13 AM

1 Attachment(s)
30 to 15 adapter
Attachment 47530

BarbaraG 03-11-2014 08:17 AM

I'm not a big AC person anyway. Have yet to use it and this would likely be in April so not an issue.

Also, yes, good idea about possibly running an extension cord if I need to.

Thanks, again.

B


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 PM.