Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   General Community Discussions (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f2/)
-   -   15K vs 13.5K A/C (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f2/15k-vs-13-5k-a-c-86308.html)

LandJ 06-30-2015 04:04 PM

15K vs 13.5K A/C
 
I'm getting close to ordering our new trailer, and I thought I was going to get the 15K for sure. Now I'm doubting myself...

The trailer is a Rockwood 2604 and the reasons I'm not sure are:

1) Will my Honda 3000 be able to run it?

2) Will it run on a 20A circuit while parked at my house?

I know the 13.5 will, cause I have that now.

Need some opinions... Thanks

HookupAndGo 06-30-2015 04:08 PM

I had a 15K on my TT (now have a MH). Problem that I always seemed to deal with was just the amount of amps vs the benefit. We always seemed to have to really monitor things. Running on a 20A breaker it can be close.

dj3spots 06-30-2015 04:09 PM

Our 15k won't run on house power. We have a dedicated circuit just to keep RV plugged in. Never tried the 13.5 gonna have to try that.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums

BigPatCal 06-30-2015 04:47 PM

I opted for the 15K - works like a charm. Less work for the unit to keep trailer cool, esp with just 1 AC unit. Very happy I did it. It was short $ compared to doing it later.

aceinspp 06-30-2015 05:04 PM

I'd go for the 15000 BTU as if you come south you will be glade you did. Depending on the num of slides it will take more to cool the TT. Later RJD:trink39:

Herk7769 06-30-2015 05:10 PM

Go big or go home.

Unless you run your air conditioner (A LOT) off a generator (the 15k uses more juice to get started), you will be happy you got the upgrade.

Tinmania 06-30-2015 05:23 PM

1.) It should start and run it if plugged into the the generator's 30A outlet. But not at higher altitudes. Once started you probably will only have about 500-700 watts of spare power, so won't be able to run much else.

2.) If there is nothing else in the house using the 20A circuit and the cord to connect to the RV is heavy enough and not overly long, it should run it. I wouldn't plan on running much else, however.



Mike

Saubleguy 07-01-2015 03:00 PM

Run my 15k at home on 15amp circuit - no prob. Using #12 extension cord wire to feed it.

Herk7769 07-01-2015 03:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Saubleguy (Post 910859)
Run my 15k at home on 15amp circuit - no prob. Using #12 extension cord wire to feed it.

I have to say that I believe you are seriously overloading that extension cord and may have damaged your 15 amp breaker from over heating.

Humor me and plug in a voltage tester (and an ammeter if you have a "Kill-a-Watt) at the junction of your #12 extension cord and your camper's shore power cord. Test again inside the camper.

Let me know what your startup voltage drops to and the highest amperage recorded. You can calculate the amps by dividing the recorded start up wattage by the lowest volts recorded.

I would not be at all surprised to find you are looking at 28 - 35 instantaneous amps on that cord and breaker after the voltage drop on the way to the camper.

Humor me and let me know... :trink39:

I will take a video of my Coleman Mach III 15K starting up. I have a hard wired AC voltmeter and ammeter right at the socket entrance of the camper.

I feed my house power camper circuit off of a dedicated 20 amp breaker with 25 feet of #12 exterior grade ROMEX to the TT socket; then I plug the camper cord directly into it. I think you will be surprised with the result.

conceptumator 07-01-2015 03:57 PM

Our old RV was 30A with a 4KW generator. We pulled out the original 13.5KW AC unit and replaced it with a new Dometic 15KW and never had an issue. Really made a huge difference, though I can't speak to how much of the difference was the size of the unit versus how lousy the older unit may have been functioning.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.