Forest River Forums

Forest River Forums (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/)
-   Appliances and Electronics (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/)
-   -   Dometic refrigerator code E1 (http://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f113/dometic-refrigerator-code-e1-98059.html)

bullet13 12-19-2015 04:58 PM

Dometic refrigerator code E1
 
My refrigerator has a code E1 displayed on it. This is model RM3962. Had the thermistor changed thinking it was the culprit. Still giving the E1 code. The unit cools fine. When the unit is turned on it looks like it cools down based on the setting for the inside temp. once it does this it will go into the E1 code. This will happen on electricity or gas. I can turn the unit off for a brief time then back on and it will cool until it reaches temp and then go back to E1 again. Any suggestions as to what causes this. This problem started during the summer but looks like it is starting to happen more often. Thanks

TURBS 12-19-2015 06:06 PM

I believe e1 is loss of communication.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TURBS 12-19-2015 06:07 PM

http://www.dometic.com/QBankFiles3/E...nual_17595.pdf


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bullet13 12-20-2015 07:18 PM

How would I correct the communication issue. I have the manual. It talks about the gas valve also. Refrigerator works on both propane and electricity. It will cool down to the setting that is selected on unit. Once it gets there the E1 code come on. I can turn unit off and back on to reset the code and lower the temp setting and it will continue to lower the temp. in refrigerator. Not sure what will need to be changed to correct this issue. RV shops don't give you much help either. Thanks

bobkatz5 12-21-2015 11:23 AM

Recently had the same code, I had to manually unplug the AC electric plug and let sit for about 10 minutes and plug back in. If this doesn't work unplug AC and remove all connections in rear of fridge wait the 10 minutes and put it all back together. That is what I had to do, after which all worked fine.

silverback 35ts 12-21-2015 03:01 PM

How old is you unit?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bullet13 (Post 1060191)
My refrigerator has a code E1 displayed on it. This is model RM3962. Had the thermistor changed thinking it was the culprit. Still giving the E1 code. The unit cools fine. When the unit is turned on it looks like it cools down based on the setting for the inside temp. once it does this it will go into the E1 code. This will happen on electricity or gas. I can turn the unit off for a brief time then back on and it will cool until it reaches temp and then go back to E1 again. Any suggestions as to what causes this. This problem started during the summer but looks like it is starting to happen more often. Thanks

You have not stated how old your unit is, so I can only say this as I assume it is under warranty , and if so contact domedic as they will need to inform as to where take your coach and be repaired.

As per the domedic manual it is a propane valve issue, and it states to turn off the fridge for 10 minutes and try again. Now you have stated you have done this and when it reaches temp it goes back to error.
So it would lead me to believe the propane valve is not good and needs to be replaced.

I hope this helps you out some, Happy Camping And Merry Christmas

TURBS 12-21-2015 03:09 PM

I believe it's an 09


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"

bobkatz5 12-21-2015 03:11 PM

My fridge is still under warranty, so less than 2 years old. My unit would begin to cool in both gas and AC mode but would stop and display E1. I followed the recommendations to disconnect both AC and DC connections and allow it to sit. There is also a reset on the heating stack which may also need to be reset. Hope this helps as stated it worked for me.

bobkatz5 12-21-2015 03:14 PM

You can also go online and search for Dometic error code E1. That is what I followed to get mine back to working order.

bullet13 01-03-2016 06:36 PM

Thanks for all the feedback. Im presently on a camping trip and haven't checked the web site until now. My fridge seems to work fine as long as it is opened up to get things out of it. Once it set for a period of time with opening up the door it will go into the E1 code. I have tried unplugging the AC cord for over 10 mins and still goes into E1 code. I haven't tried disconnecting the 12 volt wires yet. Will try this after trip is over and at the house. The camper is 2009 unit. Don't think Dometic will cover this old of a unit.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 PM.