Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2022, 11:11 PM   #1

Dewinterize

Hey all, I am new to owning my own camper. I need to dewinterize (is that the right term?) my Palomino SS1251. Is there a video that someone can recommend or some really good directions?

I appreciate any and all help!
MTTeacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 07:49 AM   #2

Welcome to the forum its a great place to get your questions answered. Hookup to city water (with a pressure regulator) and open the faucets and shower one at a time until all the pink is gone. make sure you do the outside shower also and low point drains. One thing to check is that the antifreeze valve at your pump is closed and aligned to FW and after the pink stuff is gone UN-bypass the water heater. there are tons on videos on youtube. good luck
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 12:13 PM   #3
Site Team

Welcome aboard. Here is a link to some of the more commonly asked questions from new RV owners like yourself.

https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...ts-157524.html
Iwritecode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2022, 07:23 AM   #4

I found this early in our truck camper experience. I don't know who wrote it to give credit but I modified it a bit to add flushing the tank via the petcock.

1) Open low point drains (blue and red caps on bottom of camper below water heater) to drain some antifreeze. Reinstall caps.
2) Fill fresh water tank with clean water.
3) Open shower hot and cold water valves (if equipped) and sink faucet all the way open. NOTE - If faucet only has one knob for hot/cold water, ensure to cycle valve from hot to cold during flushing.