Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-24-2020, 12:10 PM   #1

Truck Camper Pros and Cons??

Hello, I am thinking about switching from a 5th wheel to a truck camper and would like to hear some of your experiences and would welcome any advice that may help me decide. I currently own a 2016 Ford F250 long bed and a 28' Fifth Wheel. I have no experience at all with truck campers. I am considering a camper because I am currently paying $230.00 a month storing my 5er, which is standard for So. Calif. A camper would stay on my truck and can be parked in the street or small driveway without getting a parking ticket. I got a $60.00 ticket for leaving my 5er in front of my house overnight while not connected to the truck UGH! I would be camping alone and/or occasionally my DW would join me for a local overnighter. I am considering a large camper with a slide out. I would love to boondock more often. I am looking forward to any advice or recommendations you can offer. Thank you in advance.
Old 11-24-2020, 12:54 PM   #2

We don't have one, but we've got a single friend who uses his frequently. We see them in parks and the electric legs seem to make them easy load/remove from the truck. He's got a ClassC also, but unless he's traveling with spouse, the truck camper suits his needs.
They do seem a bit affected by wind and the steps into them when mounted on the truck are a bit daunting.
Old 11-24-2020, 01:51 PM   #3
Always Learning

Check the weights. Truck campers run heavy- especially if you're considering one with a slide.

Ignoring the 250's GVWR, you need to focus on the weight of the rear axle weight rating (GAWR) and the tire load capacity.
Old 11-24-2020, 02:17 PM   #4