Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2016, 05:59 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
AC popping fuse.

Bought a used 2009 Wildcat. Love the rig. Last year we were using the account and the fuse started popping. Let it 'cool' off and it would go any where from q5-60 minutes. Thought maybe it was just dirty power. Made sure everything else was off but still the same.
Previous owner separated main fuse to separate account on own 20amp circuit, not fuse.
Replaced it over winter ....just in case.

At a different campground this year and same thing happened.

Hoping it's not a unit replacement..
Any ideas??
Thanks in advance
Daren
darencasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 06:24 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Sounds like something in the a/c is drawing to many amps.
You'll need to have it tested.
When you say fuse you mean circuit breaker correct?


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 07:23 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
Correct, circuit breaker.
darencasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 7,638
Two things that need to be checked incoming power should be close to 120V and running amps on your AC unit. AS they get older they tend to draw more amps. an electrical motor can draw as much as 3 time the running amps on start up so if you unit is running at the max amps already it may pop the circuit breaker when it cycles.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab) 10/04 - 05/20
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:34 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Depending on the unit, heat and humidity it should be drawing around 12-14 amps after running for a few minutes.


2008 2500hd Duramax
2015 Columbus 320RS
2016 nights camped "0"
2015 nights camped "34"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Brother Les's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BoCoMo
Posts: 2,532
Do you have anything else 'plugged in' to your 110 outlets (example, fans or cooking skillets) and or do you have so many 12v systems going that your converter is 'charging' full blast?

Keep the rest of your 'electrical/12v' usage to a minimum for a while and see what happens.

We have been in campgrounds on very hot days and 'breakers' are popping in a lot of RVs and the main breaker to the Campground blow in one. Campground hosts came around and asked everyone to keep their power usage as low as possibly needed.
__________________
Brother Les

2013 Forest River Salem Hemisphere SBT312QBUD

2001 CrewCab F-250 7.3 PowerStroke Diesel
SuperChip, BTS transmission, 6.0 Trans Cooler
Brother Les is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 09:03 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 354
Things will get loose on a 6 year old unit. Check the simple stuff first: Wires and connections at ac unit, wires and connections at the fuse/breaker panel. If those are good an amp meter to check draw as others suggested would be my next move. Every now and then you get a weak or damaged breaker the trips under the designed rating.
__________________
2016 Wildwood 32BHDS
2004 F-250 CC 4X4 V10
Mars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 09:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 861
Is the breaker tripping on AC startup? Starting amps on a 13,5K BTU AC can be 30 amps or so. Invest in a AC/DC clip-on amp meter. The amp meter is the only real way to see what's going on.
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2016, 10:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
northstar1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: in my new 29hfsxlr
Posts: 1,658
the start capacitor could be going bad causing the compressor to draw more amps at start up . they do make a quick start capacitor easy change out /add on
northstar1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 12:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Too Tall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 861
Yes, I added a hard start and a time delay.

https://youtu.be/NVkCjPh7Nd8
__________________
Rockwood 2104S, 2014 Ram 2500 Diesel.
USMC 68 -70
Too Tall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 08:48 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Too Tall View Post
Is the breaker tripping on AC startup? Starting amps on a 13,5K BTU AC can be 30 amps or so. Invest in a AC/DC clip-on amp meter. The amp meter is the only real way to see what's going on.
X2 , hard start is a temporary bandaid
Kuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2016, 08:54 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks everyone. Sounds like some of this may be past my comfort zone. I did try some of the suggestions, everything else off, different weather conditions, even different camp grounds... it still pops the circuit breaker after 30-60 minutes depending on outside tempature. Frustrating the previous owner separated the circuit breaker, 20amp, but originally the account was on the main circuit, 30amp. I'll have to get up top to see what unit is installed, may not be original.

Thanks again everyone. Great suggestions and ideas...
Daren
darencasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:15 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 10
May have found the problem...

I'm hoping this was the cause..
thanks again for all of the input!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160522_130731.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	302.1 KB
ID:	108787   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160522_130745.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	264.7 KB
ID:	108788   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160522_130809.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	311.0 KB
ID:	108789  
darencasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:53 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,830
OMG. Run for the hills!!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2016, 08:55 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Glasgow ky
Posts: 181
Wow, hope that's an empty next. I'd hate to take that cover off and see that. I'd probably jump and break a few bones.

Thats probably not causing the issue. Run it off a 50 to 30 amp adapter and see how it does. Local rv dealers or camping world. I've even seen them in walmart. The heavier duty, the better. http://amzn.com/B000RLPNLI
__________________
2500HD gas
2020 Puma 31 FKRK
Simplewon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.