Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2019, 09:52 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 76
Add electric outlet

I have a 5ver with a slide out that has a outlet on the outside for the tv and what ever else that one would need to access power. I would like to install a outlet on the inside wall of the slide out by tapping into the outside outlet. Wondering if any one else has done this and how ? Thanks for any suggestions.
ruddie66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 10:07 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruddie66 View Post
I have a 5ver with a slide out that has a outlet on the outside for the tv and what ever else that one would need to access power. I would like to install a outlet on the inside wall of the slide out by tapping into the outside outlet. Wondering if any one else has done this and how ? Thanks for any suggestions.
Yes it can be done. It will be on the GFI circuit. Since you don't know how then I suggest some hands on help.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 03:20 PM   #3
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 21,892
Iíve added outlets on interior walls but never exterior ones. For interior walls, you pull the old outlet out. Get a ďold work shallow gang boxĒ. Wire the new outlet in and bring wires off of it. Wire in the new outlet into its own old work shallow gang box. Before I attached my first time doing this, I read a few webpages on outlet wiring and watched a few YouTube videos.

Click image for larger version

Name:	B50D2562-0557-415A-8FF5-B9FAB09B7508.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	390.5 KB
ID:	198902

NOW, the kicker Iím all of this is that youíre doing it on an exterior wall. That wall will be made of foam in the middle. I donít know how the gang boxes would work there.
__________________
Officially a SOB with a 2022 Jayco Precept 36C
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're part-timing on long trips
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 03:29 PM   #4
D W
Senior Member
 
D W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: ALASKA (World's Biggest Campground)
Posts: 7,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Yes it can be done. It will be on the GFI circuit. Since you don't know how then I suggest some hands on help.
X2, but do your homework and figure out your loads on that branch circuit. You didn't specify what you want to power from that outlet, but remember you're limited to 15 amps on that circuit.

Just sayin'.
__________________
'07 K3500 Silverado LT Crew Duramax (LBZ)
2016 Salem 27RKSS
1984 CHEV SCOTTSDALE K20 2GCGK24J0E1XXXXXX (Chevrolet Legends-Class of 2019)
"...exhaust fluid? We don't need no stinkin' exhaust fluid"
D W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2019, 07:43 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 9,851
Your RV looks to be stick and tin (aluminum sided), so adding an outlet, even in a slide wall, shouldn't be much of a problem. Just be sure to offset the two preferably in the same cavity between the studs.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.