Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2017, 05:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Moparman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 13
Coleman Mach fan only

I have a 2014 rockwood 2607 was trying to run the ac on fan only but it still blows cold air and water drips off the roof just like the air is on. When I'm fan only mode with fan set to low or high I don't hear the compressor kick on but it still blows cold air. We'd like to run just the fan at night but it gets really cold when we do. Any suggestions?
Moparman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 09:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 186
I'm not sure what type of thermostat you have, but on mine if I just want the fan, I will turn the ac on with fan on low or high and set the thermostat high enough so the compressor won't come on.
__________________
2015 Cherokee 274DBH
2015 Ram 3500
klrobert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 10:25 AM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,428
Do you have the digital thermostat or the old analog model?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 10:43 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Moparman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 13

Name:   IMG_3564.JPG
Views: 619
Size:  41.5 KB
have the analog one but have the digital one in my shopping cart on amazon just haven't pulled the trigger yet.
Moparman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 12:24 PM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,428
If you set the system switch to FAN, then the fan runs on high speed and no other functions occur. The compressor should not run in this setting.

It's possible that the air feels cold because it's losing heat moving through the ceiling ducts.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 03:40 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Moparman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bama Rambler View Post
If you set the system switch to FAN, then the fan runs on high speed and no other functions occur. The compressor should not run in this setting.



It's possible that the air feels cold because it's losing heat moving through the ceiling ducts.


That's what I do but definitely feels cold. Also not sure why the water runs off the roof with just the fan on. Usually don't even turn the air on just run the fan and it cools off good.
Moparman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 03:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,363
Coleman Mach fan only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moparman58 View Post
Attachment 140411 have the analog one but have the digital one in my shopping cart on amazon just haven't pulled the trigger yet.


In that photo, the SYSTEM switch needs to go to FAN and not all the way to the left which is COOL.

If that doesn't work, the thermostat is wired incorrectly. The ac unit only does what the thermostat tells it to do.

If the air is really cold and water is dripping, the compressor is running.
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 03:50 PM   #8
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,772
Also... it is very easy to miss the fan setting when sliding the switch and landing on cool.
My DW had tried several times to run just the fan but had problems hitting the proper position.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=98
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 03:57 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moparman58 View Post
Attachment 140411 have the analog one but have the digital one in my shopping cart on amazon just haven't pulled the trigger yet.
Which digital one may I ask? I have the same stat pictured and want to go digital. The last conversation I read on here had me scared about replacing it.

Thanks!
__________________
2017 233s Shamrock
2015 King Ranch F150 4x4 EB
Blue Ox WDH
wardster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 04:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,363
Coleman Mach fan only

Quote:
Originally Posted by wardster View Post
Which digital one may I ask? I have the same stat pictured and want to go digital. The last conversation I read on here had me scared about replacing it.

Thanks!


If you have any concerns, I had the analog version pictured and replaced it with the digital version of that analog one. Works great and was an exact wire-for-wire match.

Old:
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1020.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	299.1 KB
ID:	140444

New:
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1019.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	396.1 KB
ID:	140443
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 04:31 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Moparman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 325BH View Post
If you have any concerns, I had the analog version pictured and replaced it with the digital version of that analog one. Works great and was an exact wire-for-wire match.

Old:
Attachment 140444

New:
Attachment 140443


That's the thermostat I'm thinking about getting.
Moparman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 05:35 PM   #12
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,772
We replaced our analog with the exact same digital. Wire for wire swap. The posts you were probably reading with concern were when folks install house type digital stats. The wiring can be different then. Not so on these. Eazy peazy.

The new stat also helped the DW's problem of sliding the switch that I mentioned in an earlier post.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=98
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 05:53 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: California
Posts: 168
I did the thermostat swap from analog to digital (same one as pictured) and I'll have to check about running the fan only without the A/C on...something obviously it's right. As for any fear of swapping them out...as stated it was very easy. In fact the wires were all wired nutted together down in the wall on our 21SS, fished them out, connected color to color and all systems seem fine...but I'll double check the fan only. I can't imagine that the analog would be differnt than the digital. Good luck

m
__________________
2014 Flagstaff Shamrock 21SS
2011 F-150 Crewcab ECO-BOOST Lariat 4x4
Fire Battalion Chief-09-11-2026 retirement!!!
mfeeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 06:58 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Moparman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfeeley View Post
I did the thermostat swap from analog to digital (same one as pictured) and I'll have to check about running the fan only without the A/C on...something obviously it's right. As for any fear of swapping them out...as stated it was very easy. In fact the wires were all wired nutted together down in the wall on our 21SS, fished them out, connected color to color and all systems seem fine...but I'll double check the fan only. I can't imagine that the analog would be differnt than the digital. Good luck

m


Thanks just ordered the digital thermostat. Either way it has to be better than the analog one that has big temperature swings.
Moparman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 08:04 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,363
I took this pick back when I was doing the swap. Might be helpful... or not.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1018.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	352.6 KB
ID:	140487
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 08:42 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Moparman58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 325BH View Post
I took this pick back when I was doing the swap. Might be helpful... or not.

Attachment 140487


Did you have to run a power wire for the thermostat or was it already there?
Moparman58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 08:47 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moparman58 View Post
Did you have to run a power wire for the thermostat or was it already there?


Was already there. I replaced an existing thermostat with a digital one.
325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 11:52 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 137
Did you gain any functionality by going to the digital Tstat? Specifically I am wondering if I can get High/low with FAN ONLY. The current analog one only does High, unless I switch to AC, then it goes High/low. I don't know why they have to make this stuff so limiting, there should be more than one FAN ONLY speed.
DNA Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fan

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 PM.