Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-21-2022, 06:56 AM   #1

coverter breaker trips immediately

hi all!
my utility converter breaker trips immediately. Im a total newbie. Does my rv need a battery or at least a good working battery? Im always hooked up to power at home...
thx in advance!
marlon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2022, 07:34 AM   #2

Welcome to the forum its a great place to get your questions answered. Your converter will supply 12V and 110V whether you have a battery or not. If your battery is removed make sure the cables are not touching anything or that your disconnect switch is open. something is causing a short. let the forum know what you find
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2022, 08:36 AM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by marlon View Post
hi all!

my utility converter breaker trips immediately. Im a total newbie. Does my rv need a battery or at least a good working battery? Im always hooked up to power at home...

thx in advance!
Can't answer much if you don't provide year, make and model number of RV you're asking about.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2022, 08:39 AM   #4

First step is to properly reset the breaker. Full off, then back to on.

Have you changed any wires, installed anything? Hooking a battery backwards normally blows converter fuses.

Get your screwdriver, voltmeter and flashlight ready. Expose the converter.

If the converter did not come on it is time to put eyes on the device. Look for damage. Black soot. Check all wires. At the battery too.

It has to be the breaker, converter or battery. Not sure if a truly dead battery will do this.