Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2020, 10:17 AM   #1

Exhaust Fan

Im a newbie so forgive me...

Yesterday after opening up my pop up and setting it up was trying out different things...

I have it hooked up to a 120 outlet just to learn the basics...

Yesterday I tried the exhaust fan and even after opening the vent it would not turn on. I went through the fuse panel at 9pm last night and found a 15 amp fuse that was blown... I replaced it however since it was cold i did not retry... Is there anything else that i can try once I get home incase the fuse was not the issue??? I checked the fuse on it as well...
djspynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 04:07 PM   #2

Here is the fan i have
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200517_150232.jpg
Views:	308
Size:	227.7 KB
ID:	229288  
Old 05-18-2020, 02:38 PM   #3

The fan, all interior and exterior lights, water pump, propane and CO alarm, stereo, heater, thermostat, operate on 12V, not 120V. Fridge controls on the inside of the camper need 12V, controls accessed through the outside vents generally do not. Water heater may or may not need 12V, depending on model (automatic ignition does need 12V).

Basically, everything except the converter, air conditioning, microwave, and stuff plugged into the household outlets take 12V or no electrical power at all.

In a pop-up, 12V stuff in the roof (vent fan and lights) runs through a safety switch to prevent being powered when the roof is down. That switch makes a connection when the galley is set up (in most models). In Forest River A-frames that safety switch is located at the port forward corner of the box, and makes the connection when the forward roof panel is lifted up. The safety switch would be among the list of things to check.