RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2012, 05:08 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 318
Finding HD TV stations.......

My 2011 Rockwood has a Wingard antenna for TV reception, and the TV inside has an HD tuner. Although we do not watch TV much, I have tried it, and found it to be a pain to find and tune a station.

I am adding a Wingman HD antenna to the Wingard to enhance reception, but I am wondering what people do when they reach a new site to try and quickly find and tune to local stations with their RV mounted antenna????
Do you search somewhere on line to find local stations and then use a compass to point the antenna?
Just wondering.......
__________________
2021 (Dec) Dynamax Isata 30 FW Xplorer
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Channel Search...
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by GASPEDDLER View Post
Channel Search...
?????

do you mean the option on the TV for searching channels??
If so, I have done this and gotten zilch. I assume that an antenna is somewhat directional and pointing it at the station will help you get the best signal
__________________
2021 (Dec) Dynamax Isata 30 FW Xplorer
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:46 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
like gas said do a auto tune on tv for stations . you may have to turn antenna several directions to pick up stations aimed that way.
your antenna booster is on to right ?
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:57 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
like gas said do a auto tune on tv for stations . you may have to turn antenna several directions to pick up stations aimed that way.
your antenna booster is on to right ?
yep, I turn the booster on....

I was hoping that perhaps there was a more "scientific" way of finding stations....
__________________
2021 (Dec) Dynamax Isata 30 FW Xplorer
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 05:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Steeljag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Fl.
Posts: 1,305
As stated above ......booster on.......channel search........beer.........sit back and enjoy after coming in for the night !
__________________
2018 Forester 3011DS (Purchased 04/26/17)
2010 Flagstaff 26 RLSS (Sold 05/16)
2012 Ford F-150 Ecoboost, Screw, H/D, 3.73
1930 lbs CCC
2014 Jeep Rubicon JK
Going where the weather suits my clothes.
Steeljag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:02 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Ok lets step back and survey .......
1) Your for sure you have an hd ready tv ?
2) Are you assuming that the cabling is correctly hooked up "has it ever worked"?
3) Are you on the right aux according to where your antenna cable is hooked up ?
3) Is your tv set to cable and not over the air ?

IF you cant even get a glimse of a tv station then a wingman may not help do to other issues .

When I auto tune on mine I get 30 + stations as far away as 75 miles .
course I live in the midwest its flat .
And I have stock antenna as you do .
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Ok lets step back and survey .......
1) Your for sure you have an hd ready tv ?
2) Are you assuming that the cabling is correctly hooked up "has it ever worked"?
3) Are you on the right aux according to where your antenna cable is hooked up ?
3) Is your tv set to cable and not over the air ?

IF you cant even get a glimse of a tv station then a wingman may not help do to other issues .

When I auto tune on mine I get 30 + stations as far away as 75 miles .
course I live in the midwest its flat .
And I have stock antenna as you do .
yeah..it does pick up stations. Got loads at the dealer, then 3 weak ones at home. I guess since I do not watch TV at home, I am not patient about turning the antenna to find the best direction to "find " stations. ....... plus I am an engineer/scientist, so I was looking for an "easier" way
__________________
2021 (Dec) Dynamax Isata 30 FW Xplorer
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:13 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,873
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ster-7037.html


http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...uard-5152.html


Also I did this mod (not my invention BTW) and highly recommend it unless you upgrade your power supply wall plate to the new one with a signal strength meter.

I use www.antennaweb.org to find local stations.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Protractor used to align TV antenna.pdf (219.7 KB, 104 views)
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:39 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ster-7037.html


http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...uard-5152.html


Also I did this mod (not my invention BTW) and highly recommend it unless you upgrade your power supply wall plate to the new one with a signal strength meter.

I use www.antennaweb.org to find local stations.
AWESOME!!!!!

this is exactly what I was thinking of!!!

I did find that Antennapoint.com has more stations listed for my home address that antennaweb.org, so both can be used and compared.

Not sure I will mount the protractor, but I will get one and play with it and a compass.
__________________
2021 (Dec) Dynamax Isata 30 FW Xplorer
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:47 PM   #11
member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 353
:SureLock Digital Tv Signal Finder I just bought this last night hope it works i'll let you know when I use it
__________________
2019 Cedar Creek Silverback 31IKS
2017 F 250 6.2 gas 4.30 8' bed
HIDE OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:52 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
woodsman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: callahan, fl
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by toshu View Post
yep, I turn the booster on....

I was hoping that perhaps there was a more "scientific" way of finding stations....
My scientific way is looking for a neighbor who has his antena up. I point mine in the same direction. I use a converter box which picks up many digital and analog stations. Sometimes twice the stations as antena alone. Do not know why this works but it does.
woodsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:57 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 285
I've done the same thing every time we camp. Recently I've installed the Winegard SensarPro TV Signal Meter and it works great. Purchased it from Campingworld and it was pretty easy to install in place of the regular tv booster outlet. I simply turn it on(tv off) and signal strength numbers are shown on the meter. You just turn the antenna to the strongest numbers, then turn on your television and do a new channel scan. I'm impressed how good it works. It has an adjustable gain control that helps too. Camping keeps getting better and better!
__________________
2006 Rockwood 8272S
2005 Chevrolet Silverado
John & Pandra
Battlefield, Missouri
F.R.O.G. Member
1st International F.R.O.G. Rally Branson Missouri
JohnandPandra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:57 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsman View Post
My scientific way is looking for a neighbor who has his antena up. I point mine in the same direction. I use a converter box which picks up many digital and analog stations. Sometimes twice the stations as antena alone. Do not know why this works but it does.
what do you mean exactly by converter box??
__________________
2021 (Dec) Dynamax Isata 30 FW Xplorer
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 06:58 PM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by toshu View Post
AWESOME!!!!!

this is exactly what I was thinking of!!!

I did find that Antennapoint.com has more stations listed for my home address that antennaweb.org, so both can be used and compared.

Not sure I will mount the protractor, but I will get one and play with it and a compass.
They break easy when drilling the handle hole and cutting out the center bar. I broke 2 before I got it right.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:01 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdefeo1 View Post
:SureLock Digital Tv Signal Finder I just bought this last night hope it works i'll let you know when I use it
That looks VERY interesting and not that expensive.

By all means give us a report here in the thread to educate us on this device!!
__________________
2021 (Dec) Dynamax Isata 30 FW Xplorer
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 07:10 PM   #17
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,873
Winegard SensarPro TV Signal Meter - Winegard RFL-342 - Over-the-Air Antennas - Camping World

This is what I was referring to.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 09:14 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Coops1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 358
I've used TV Fool for finding towers in the past, works in Canada as well.
__________________
26WRB - V-Lite
Denali HD LML
Coops1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 09:23 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coops1 View Post
I've used TV Fool for finding towers in the past, works in Canada as well.
wow...thats an even more powerful tool, although it lists many stations for me that are beyond my capability to capture....
__________________
2021 (Dec) Dynamax Isata 30 FW Xplorer
toshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 09:34 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
cootr68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: central il
Posts: 105
If you have an Android phone TV antenna helper is a good app. It uses your GPS location to find towers/signals near you and also has compass feature.
__________________
1997 Sierra m-27fls tt
1999 Pontiac T/A
2006 flstn Deluxe
2004 Polaris 330 magnum
Bear the Labrador
cootr68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led pad

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.