Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2019, 03:38 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 19
Furnace

Hello everyone. Woke up to the camper being 59 inside and noticed the furnace didnít come on. I checked the fuse and itís okay. I turned the furnace off and back on and it started but doesnít blow hot air and shuts itís self back off again and I have to reset it and the process starts all over.
__________________

michael.mcilrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 05:28 AM   #2
Rookie
 
Mrprovy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Selden, NY
Posts: 390
Propane tanks empty or off? Regulator failure?
__________________

__________________
2006 Chevy Trailblazer
2020 Geo Pro 16BHG
Mrprovy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 08:20 AM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 7,556
Do you hear the igniter clicking when it starts?

Are you on battery or shore power? If on battery do you know what the voltage is?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 08:31 AM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 11,916
Sounds like you've run out of propane or have a low battery(ies) and your furnace went into lock-out mode. That's why you had to turn it off, then back on.

Does all three stove burners light and operate on high at the same time?

Do you have two tanks?

Do you have BOTH valves open?

Do you have an auto-change over regulator?

When you first turn on the furnace do you hear the DSI spark ignition clicking?

Are you on shore power?

What is the state of charge of your battery(ies)
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 08:42 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 19
Furnace

Thank you for all the replies. I will check the gas when I get home and wasnít aware it did run in the gas. I am on shore power but canít answer if it runs on both like my fridge does. I do have two tanks with a switch over and all that will be checked at lunch. Thank you again!
michael.mcilrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 08:48 AM   #6
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 11,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by michael.mcilrath View Post
Thank you for all the replies. I will check the gas when I get home and wasn’t aware it did run in the gas. I am on shore power but can’t answer if it runs on both like my fridge does. I do have two tanks with a switch over and all that will be checked at lunch. Thank you again!
The furnace burns LP (propane) only to make heat.

Some (not all) A/C units have an electric element (heat strip) or utilize a heat pump system to make supplemental heat but the furnace is strictly propane for heat AND 12v to operate the blower and the controls.

The furnace (and the R/V) is built this way so if you have no shore power (boondocking) you are still able to have heat. (provided you don't run out of LP or battery power)

Many folks use an electric space heater to supplement the furnace when shore power is available.

Your furnace is one of the largest propane users in your R/V.
In cooler/cold weather it can deplete a 20# tank quickly.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 01:59 PM   #7
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 21,059
Your furnace doesn't run on 120v AC shore power.
The electronics and fan run on 12v DC power and it uses propane to heat.
Your dealer must have done a poor PDI/walkthrough to not have explained that to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael.mcilrath View Post
Thank you for all the replies. I will check the gas when I get home and wasnít aware it did run in the gas. I am on shore power but canít answer if it runs on both like my fridge does. I do have two tanks with a switch over and all that will be checked at lunch. Thank you again!
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 07:01 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 19
Thank you all for the replies and yes, I went home and the auto value never switched to the new gas tank. This is my first winter using the heat and again thank you all.
__________________

michael.mcilrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


×