RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2016, 07:14 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 306
did you jump out the red and white wire like suggested earlier?

...with a paper clip, piece of wire or something similar
__________________
2016 Forester 2401WS MBS
Life is short...eat the cookie
bob dirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 07:14 PM   #42
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11,972
If you are going to diagnose this yourself, go to Walmart, Harbor Freight or radio Shack and purchase an inexpensive auto ranging meter. a Neon 120V test light is of no use when diagnosing the 12V system in an RV.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 07:22 PM   #43
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cedricshelby View Post
From your picture, looks like it is in the Off position and the heat anticipator is not set correctly.
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 07:32 PM   #44
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Are you still here?
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:47 AM   #45
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,644
Sometimes trying to fix things ourselves to save a few bucks ends up costing more because more gets broken.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:27 AM   #46
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,714
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbillsmith View Post
Have you possibly, recently remove and filled your propane tanks? If so you may have air in the furnace lines. This happened to me and the solution was in the owners guide for my furnace.
I'm with hbillsmith here, are you sure you even have propane, and the cylinders are turned on (open)? This is the more common root reason for your furnace not working (it works off propane), and is the easiest thing to check for before you start going too far into the 12 volt reasonings.

The furnace is a huge propane user, and you may be just out of propane, or real low.

Have you tried lighting your stove?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:47 AM   #47
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,173
In post #1 they stated the propane stove works fine.

Given the information to date, since trying to reset the lockout didn't work, and based on the other posts, I agree with BandB that it's probably time to call a mobile tech.

Even though it's costly, it's still better to call someone then it is to risk an incident trying to troubleshoot something that deals with electricity, propane and fire.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:47 AM   #48
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
I'm with hbillsmith here, are you sure you even have propane, and the cylinders are turned on (open)? This is the more common root reason for your furnace not working (it works off propane), and is the easiest thing to check for before you start going too far into the 12 volt reasonings.

The furnace is a huge propane user, and you may be just out of propane, or real low.

Have you tried lighting your stove?
Post # 1 says the propane stove works fine.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=98
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:13 AM   #49
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Thought he said stove was work'n fine
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 10:46 AM   #50
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,644
I know he said that, but not to be stupid, does it? My oven will run for 3 or 4 minutes easy even with the tanks off. So a quick check might not work.

But I cannot remember if he said the fan even tried to fire.. Did anyone else suggest to just change the thermostat out? I think someone had a furnace issue, everyone trouble shooter it to death and it turned out the thermostat was bad..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:42 AM   #51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Warsaw,NC
Posts: 7,184
This is what I do when the furnace will not work, first think I check is the lp tanks, if full or about full I light the stove and turn stove on high. If stove burns good I shut off stove and then if I'm plugged in I unplug from the pedestal outside and go in house and check the lights. If the lights work then I call the man to fix it. I can mess something up real fast


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
spock123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:50 AM   #52
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,724
Send a message via AIM to B and B
Folks

The fan does not work. No control so propane is a non issue right now.

The OP said that in post 1. Suggestions of getting a test light then confirming it worked on a 110 v outlet but shows no power strongly suggests the OP should seek help.

Being a Technologist gleaning from what the OP has said he needs external help to assist. Even a fellow RVer might be able to troubleshoot the issue.
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 11:55 AM   #53
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by B and B View Post
Folks

The fan does not work. No control so propane is a non issue right now.

The OP said that in post 1. Suggestions of getting a test light then confirming it worked on a 110 v outlet but shows no power strongly suggests the OP should seek help.

Being a Technologist gleaning from what the OP has said he needs external help to assist. Even a fellow RVer might be able to troubleshoot the issue.
The furnace is 12v, so it should work if the batteries are up and the shore line disconnected. I still say the picture shows the thermostat in the Off position.
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:05 PM   #54
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,724
Send a message via AIM to B and B
Quote the OP Post #1

1. Propane stove works fine
2. Fuses all good
3. Only know how to turn it on from the thermostat inside


If these are correct then a service call is required. He knows how to turn it on.
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:07 PM   #55
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by B and B View Post
Quote the OP Post #1

1. Propane stove works fine
2. Fuses all good
3. Only know how to turn it on from the thermostat inside


If these are correct then a service call is required. He knows how to turn it on.
Understand, but picture shows it Off.
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:11 PM   #56
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,724
Send a message via AIM to B and B
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Understand, but picture shows it Off.
Not disputing that, just giving the OP the credit that they checked that knowing how to turn it on.

Being a 2005 a myriad of things could be wrong electrically and not to scare the OP with limited skills might take some time to correct.
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:20 PM   #57
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
I would make sure the batteries were charged, turn the thermostat to as high as it goes and then start checking for 12 volts at the furnace, if none, I would start changing fuses in the converter. Some could be bad and still look good. Pull the fuses and check of continuity on each and every fuse. Then start checking for 12v in the thermostat.
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:22 PM   #58
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
I would make sure the batteries were charged, turn the thermostat to as high as it goes and then start checking for 12 volts at the furnace, if none, I would start changing fuses in the converter. Some could be bad and still look good. Pull the fuses and check of continuity on each and every fuse. Then start checking for 12v in the thermostat.

Yes, but you know what you're doing. I agree with Brian, this OP may need help doing that safely.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:29 PM   #59
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaadk View Post
Yes, but you know what you're doing. I agree with Brian, this OP may need help doing that safely.
Working with 12v is about as safe as you can get.
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:39 PM   #60
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Thermostat dia was in the works being dia. by jumping it to see if fan would come on....just went thru this last week
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.