Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-18-2020, 06:03 PM   #1

Generator Function

Hello

I am new to RV-ing.

I purchased a 2009 Forestriver Georgetown 374T(?) in September 2019. I started the 5500 Cummins (Onan) once in November and allowed it to run for a while then shut it down. I did this simply by pushing the generator button on the dashboard. To my recollection, the rig was not running. It was plugged into a 50A feed. I parked it December 22 and started the rig a couple of times between then and now (3 months).

I replaced both deep cycle batteries after discovering they each had one bad cell. Once I flip the switch that engages the auxiliary batteries I can start the generator. When I flip the switch off, the generator turns off. Did the generator start in September because the rig was plugged into a power source?

When the generator is running, is the power to the lights & slide-outs automatically coming from the generator? My generator has an auto-switch and has a permanent connection inside a service panel.
michiganian7412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2020, 06:16 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by michiganian7412 View Post
Hello

I am new to RV-ing.

I purchased a 2009 Forestriver Georgetown 374T(?) in September 2019. I started the 5500 Cummins (Onan) once in November and allowed it to run for a while then shut it down. I did this simply by pushing the generator button on the dashboard. To my recollection, the rig was not running. It was plugged into a 50A feed. I parked it December 22 and started the rig a couple of times between then and now (3 months).