Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2021, 07:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Undercover Poe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
Help No Heat!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7097.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	230.3 KB
ID:	256886
In my 2018 Acadia LT29!!!???? I tried to flip on the heat last night and nothing!! I have propane. I set my Dometec t stat to heat, head the over head interlock but couldnít not get the blower motor to fire. I took apart the heater cover and pressed the reset switch a million times. Any thoughts where to start?Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7098.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	343.8 KB
ID:	256887
Undercover Poe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 07:40 AM   #2
Retired Army MSG!
 
lazyjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sharon, SC
Posts: 229
I do not or never have had this model, however, RV furnaces are 12V. I would recommend looking at your fuse panel on the 12V side and see if possible there is a blown fuse. I assume all lights and other 12v accessories are working.
lazyjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 07:47 AM   #3
Member
 
Undercover Poe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
All the lights and all the 12V works. Just the furnace wonít fire / Blow. AC pumps cold. Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2021-06-13-08:47:35-359.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	311.4 KB
ID:	256888
Undercover Poe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 08:05 AM   #4
Retired Army MSG!
 
lazyjj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sharon, SC
Posts: 229
I recommend going to the converter and checking the fuse for furnace. There should be several auto type fuses that control 12v accessories. Most have led lights. If you see a red led lit up on that panel that normally represents a blown fuse. Also, are you turning the temp on the thermostat up enough that it is more than the ambient temp in your rig to allow the furnace to start?
lazyjj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 08:49 AM   #5
Handyman
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 121
Just off the cuff here. I assume you have an electric ignitor. If you can hear the ignitor "popping", you're probably not getting gas. If not "popping", you're probably not getting power.
__________________
2016 Salem Cruise Lite 253RLXL
2013 F-150 XLT 5.0 Crew Cab
2009 F-150 King Ranch 5.4 Crew Cab
tfmdgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 08:53 AM   #6
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 17,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfmdgm View Post
Just off the cuff here. I assume you have an electric ignitor. If you can hear the ignitor "popping", you're probably not getting gas. If not "popping", you're probably not getting power.
The blower motor has to spin fast enough to set the sail switch before the furnace attempts an ignition sequence. The OP's blower isn't spinning assuming "couldnít not get the blower motor to fire" means 'could not'.
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 56; Booked = 52
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 11:42 AM   #7
Member
 
Undercover Poe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
There are no red lights on in my panel there are no burnt out fuses. Iím familiar with the function of the snail switch. As I have had the snail switch get stuck and I have not been able to get the furnace to light but that is not the case this time this time I canít even get the fan motor blower to turn
Undercover Poe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 11:57 AM   #8
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 17,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undercover Poe View Post
There are no red lights on in my panel there are no burnt out fuses. Iím familiar with the function of the snail switch. As I have had the snail switch get stuck and I have not been able to get the furnace to light but that is not the case this time this time I canít even get the fan motor blower to turn
Itís SAIL switch if youíre doing a search.
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 56; Booked = 52
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 12:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Undercover Poe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
OK but thatís not the problem. I canít get the blower motor in it even start
Undercover Poe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 05:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Did you confirm power at the furnace?
Did you try to rotate the blower motor wheel? Use caution if it starts up! I recommend you turn thermostat off during the blower wheel test to see if it spins or is locked up. Bypass thermostat test/is the thermostat showing it is call for heat?
Lucky you, you got a site in Acadia
Good Luck
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2021, 05:53 PM   #11
Just Tryin' to Help
 
cboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,395
Or try to spin it with a pencil, just not your finger!
__________________
Craig & Cath
2018 2902WS Rockwood Ultra Lite (with tons of Mods)
2017 Ford F250 Lariat, 6.2 gas (2022 F250 Lariat 7.3 gas with 10 speed Xmsn on order)
Equalizer Hitch w/ 4-Point Sway Control

Days camped since 2015(retirement): 1044
cboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 05:42 AM   #12
Member
 
Undercover Poe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfMcFroggierPod View Post
Did you confirm power at the furnace?
Did you try to rotate the blower motor wheel? Use caution if it starts up! I recommend you turn thermostat off during the blower wheel test to see if it spins or is locked up. Bypass thermostat test/is the thermostat showing it is call for heat?
Lucky you, you got a site in Acadia
Good Luck

When you say ďconform powerĒ are you suggesting I test for 12V at the blower motor leads? And then yeah let me check that and spin the motor with a stick. Good place to start. Thank you.
Undercover Poe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 06:45 AM   #13
dotsonjc
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 68
Friend of mine had similar issue, and found out his battery was weak, just didn't have enough juice to support the furnace igniting and running the motor. Just offering up as something to check out.
__________________
Current:
2011 Expedition XLT
2018 Wildwood X-Lite 282QBXL

Past:
2012 Coachman Freedom Express 22DSX
dotsonjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 08:19 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Undercover Poe View Post
When you say ďconform powerĒ are you suggesting I test for 12V at the blower motor leads? And then yeah let me check that and spin the motor with a stick. Good place to start. Thank you.

Correct x2
and also 10.5+ vdc minimum req
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 08:53 AM   #15
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 12,960
If no 12V at the blower, I would pull the fuse for the furnace and measure it. The red lights do not always indicate properly.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 10:23 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybob View Post
If no 12V at the blower, I would pull the fuse for the furnace and measure it. The red lights do not always indicate properly.


Correct,
Sometimes a fuse looks good even though it is bad. Continuity check or voltage passing through the fuse.
Ohms Law
W/V=A
V lower = Higher Amp draw
Good Luck, hopefully it is just a bad fuse and not a bad motor or circuit board...
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 07:39 PM   #17
Member
 
Undercover Poe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7118.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	395.9 KB
ID:	257244
I pulled the fuses checked him switch them around, all the fuses are good. I pulled off the cover again with my voltmeter check for 12 V on every wet red wire back there and nothing
Undercover Poe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 09:29 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
There needs to be some source of 12vdc feeding the furnace. The thermostat is only a remote signal sending switch. If the fuses are good it is possible a wire has broken/dis-connected/poor connection. Can you trace the wires from the circuit box? Check all of the connections.
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 10:04 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Have you tested the blower motor directly with 12vdc?
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2021, 05:34 AM   #20
Member
 
Undercover Poe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 53
Iím embarrassed to say I canít even find the power leads at the motor inside the furnace box
Undercover Poe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.