RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2015, 08:08 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
Hot water heater

Good morning.
Have a 365saq with a 12 gallon hot water heater.
When I turn the switch on the wall it won't do any thing.
No igniter or gas.
The electric side works but no gas side.
Any ideas ?
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 08:13 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinetmaker61 View Post
Good morning.
Have a 365saq with a 12 gallon hot water heater.
When I turn the switch on the wall it won't do any thing.
No igniter or gas.
The electric side works but no gas side.
Any ideas ?
1. Is the water inside the heater already hot from the electric heating element? If so, then the thermostat for the propane won't be calling for heat, and has no need to come on.

2. Are your propane tanks open and has the air been purged from the line. Have you used your stove to check for propane delivery?

3. If the propane failed to ignite after a few failed attempts (due to propane delivery or other), then the system goes into lockout mode. You have to turn the DSI switch off inside your RV and then back on to reset the lockout. Do you have a fault/reset light beside the inside DSI switch, and does it illuminate?

4. Has this heater worked on propane before, and have you used it recently?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 08:14 AM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,512
Does the switch light up or is there a fault light near the switch that lights up?
Have you tested the fuses in the panel to make sure the one for the water heater is good?

Have you made sure that the gas was on to it?

Has it ever worked on gas?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 08:16 AM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,992
Not 100% familiar with your unit and you didn't post any model/brand info so simple stuff first...

Gas on?
Good supply at other appliances?
Does switch light up when turning on?
Check fuses?
Does it try to light and go into lockout?
Does lockout indicator come on?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=98
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 10:45 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
Hey there.
Yes it has worked previously.
After it was winterized it hasn't worked.
So not sure what happened.
Have winterized three yrs prior.
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 11:44 AM   #6
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,512
Are you sure that the gas is on to it?

Did you check the fuses?
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 11:46 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
Yes on the gas.
And yes to the fuse
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 11:50 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
Usually I hear the igniter start
Didn't know it perhaps there was a reset somewhere I was unawre of
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 11:56 AM   #9
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,512
It's beginning to sound like the control board. First I'd try to unplug and re-plug all the electrical connectors on the board a few times and see if that helps.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 11:57 AM   #10
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinetmaker61 View Post
Usually I hear the igniter start
Didn't know it perhaps there was a reset somewhere I was unawre of
Is the water cool inside the heater or is it hot from the electric heating element?

If you have a Suburban, it does have 2 resettable ECO switches on the face of the heater. The left one is for the electric and the right one is for the propane side.

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 11:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
I have seen them but not sure how to reset
Do they push in ?
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 11:58 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
DougP47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 327
Sounds like your thermostat is stuck . My reset wouldn't reset either. Turn off gas and switch and check with ohm meter you might find the gas side is open. I had to replace mine a month ago. Works fine now,hope this helps
__________________


Ram 1500
Big Horn
Hemi 5.7 2011
Salem 30KQBSS 2012
DougP47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:01 PM   #13
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinetmaker61 View Post
I have seen them but not sure how to reset
Do they push in ?
Yes, if they are tripped, you just push in on the round part of the rubber cover.

You still have not answered if the water is currently hot inside the heater form the electric heating element.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:02 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
The electric side is working
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:05 PM   #15
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinetmaker61 View Post
The electric side is working
So is the water hot inside the heater....as of right now as we speak?

If the water is already heated from the electric heating element....the propane is NEVER EVER going to come on, as the thermostat will not allow it turn on the propane until the water inside the heater drops to a certain temperature.......and NEEDS to be heated.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:06 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
I will replacing the thermostat when I get home
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:09 PM   #17
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,711
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabinetmaker61 View Post
I will replacing the thermostat when I get home
Why?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:10 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
Some one told me the thermostat could be stuck open.
So not sure yet but assuming that may be my problem
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:11 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Mt. Washington Ky.
Posts: 57
I have tried depleting the water in it and turning the electric side off.
It still will not cycle on the propane side
cabinetmaker61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 12:13 PM   #20
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,711
OK. Remove the rubber cover from the pic I posted above. Underneath, you will have two hi-limit ECO thermostats. These Emergency Cut Off (ECO) switches are built in with the thermostats.

The left one is for the 120 volt AC heating element and the right one is for the 12 volt DC DSI/Propane side. They are not interchangeable.

Both have two wires going to them. Make sure the wire connections are good, as this can sometimes be a problem.

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I often say to myself, "I can't believe that cloning machine worked."
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hot water, water heater, water, heater

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.