Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2019, 11:59 AM   #1

How often do things break??

New to campers here. About to buy a 2018 Cherokee Wolf Pup 18TO(USED), and and offered extended warranty. There is currently no warranty on the camper being used. I find myself to be a very handy individual and physically fit(28yo male who plays sports). I have replace head gaskets on my old truck just from watching utube and reading online, have done a ton of electrical and plumping in my house. I am very handy and can usually figuring out a lot of stuff on my own. I am a machinist who owns his own machine shop. However campers are new territory to me. I have done research into them to know how stuff works and how to keep it working as long as possible. But I still cant really find anywhere where people say how often things break. Like slide motors, do they break within 5 years usually? What about fridges, water heaters and heaters? If taken care of and always properly leveled, does this stuff tend to break? The fridge is the one item I am worried about as it is not some I can repair. I can replace it myself. But could cost $1500 in parts from what I read? But if fridges dont normally break within 5 years if properly cared for(leveled when used), then Id see no reason in a warranty. Do slides need to be removed to replace slide motors? Those are cheap items that may not be something I could replace if the slide needs to come out. I guess I am more worried about these BIG ticket items. Do they commonly break withing 5 years? I have seen campers where people have them for 15 years with no issues. I am trying to save money here, and Its hard to justify a $2k warranty that will be up near $3K after my 12 yr financing for a 5 yr warranty. Thats nearly 25% the cost of the camper. I know I will see people to say to buy it. But I also know a lot of people aren't as handy, or want to be