Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2020, 01:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Just recently I have to turn of my fridge to run AC

We have a 2019 Lacrosse 3311RKL and just recently our AC won't run unless we turn off out fridge. We know we can't have our water heater turned on to run the AC but never the fridge?
MelnReg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 01:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelnReg View Post
We have a 2019 Lacrosse 3311RKL and just recently our AC won't run unless we turn off out fridge. We know we can't have our water heater turned on to run the AC but never the fridge?
Are you on shore power or generator? If generator, what size? Describe what happens.

If not already doing this, Turn your fridge to propane, if on generator
Beachbourbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 01:55 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
No generator and I have to a full size LG fridge that I don't think runs on propane. This just started happening last weekend.
MelnReg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelnReg View Post
No generator and I have to a full size LG fridge that I don't think runs on propane. This just started happening last weekend.
Both your fridge and water heater should have both electric/gas options. Unless you replaced them with non-RV appliances. Since your rig is a 2019, I assume you have the factory appliances still? Most water heaters run on gas anyway.

Anywhoo, if you are on shore power, I would check fuses, and then the shore power cord/connections/source
Beachbourbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beachbourbon View Post
Both your fridge and water heater should have both electric/gas options. Unless you replaced them with non-RV appliances. Since your rig is a 2019, I assume you have the factory appliances still? Most water heaters run on gas anyway.

Anywhoo, if you are on shore power, I would check fuses, and then the shore power cord/connections/source
They stated "Full Size LG" assuming it's a "Residential" Frig.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:06 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Thanks. We did check the power supply. Is it obvious if there's a fuse problem? We have the original fridge but there's no converter visible to switch from electric to propane. We went on a 5 hour trip last year and the fridge was not cold when we got there. So I'm assuming it's not propane. I've searched the manual online and nothing there either.
MelnReg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelnReg View Post
Thanks. We did check the power supply. Is it obvious if there's a fuse problem? We have the original fridge but there's no converter visible to switch from electric to propane. We went on a 5 hour trip last year and the fridge was not cold when we got there. So I'm assuming it's not propane. I've searched the manual online and nothing there either.
What does your dealer say about all these questions you have on a 1 year old RV?
Beachbourbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelnReg View Post
Thanks. We did check the power supply. Is it obvious if there's a fuse problem? We have the original fridge but there's no converter visible to switch from electric to propane. We went on a 5 hour trip last year and the fridge was not cold when we got there. So I'm assuming it's not propane. I've searched the manual online and nothing there either.
If it's a "Residential style" frig....there won't be any propane to it as those only run on 120v I believe. So it's either a generator or Inverter when you're traveling to run it.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1,001
Fuses can be checked easily at the converter usually

According to the specs your refrigerator is a Mid-size 12 volt, you have a 15,000 BTU AC and use 50 amp. What power source are you plugged into when this happens?
__________________
TV - 2020 RAM 3500 Mega Cab SRW with 6.7 Cummins HO & Aisin 6 spd, 4k payload, 23k towing
2002 GMC Yukon XL 2500, 8.1 liter (496ci), 4L85e & positraction with 3.73 gears
TT - 2013 Dutchmen Aspen Trail 3130 QBS
Great bourbon-just about any of San Diegoís craft beer
Beachbourbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:29 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWolfPaq82 View Post
If it's a "Residential style" frig....there won't be any propane to it as those only run on 120v I believe. So it's either a generator or Inverter when you're traveling to run it.
Yes that's what I found out too. The dealer is in another province and not very helpful
MelnReg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:31 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beachbourbon View Post
Fuses can be checked easily at the converter usually

According to the specs your refrigerator is a Mid-size 12 volt, you have a 15,000 BTU AC and use 50 amp. What power source are you plugged into when this happens?
It's only 50amp if we had two AC units the dealer told us. We've been plugged into 30 amp since last year without issue
MelnReg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 02:44 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by MelnReg View Post
It's only 50amp if we had two AC units the dealer told us. We've been plugged into 30 amp since last year without issue
If you've been plugged in since last yr and not moved go check you plug and see if it's not arching there and causing issues
MR.M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:33 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 1,223
I would say to check voltages at pedestal and outlet where fridge is plugged in at to see if they are the same volts and not lower than 105 volts really no less than 115V. If that's ok then check amperage of each appliance running separately of course you have might have capacitor or compressor going bad.
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 04:04 PM   #14
PhD, Common Sense
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR.M View Post
If you've been plugged in since last yr and not moved go check you plug and see if it's not arching there and causing issues
AC and residential fridge together are probably a big draw. You may have added some devices that use AC electricity, either putting you over the 30-amp limit, or the pedestal (or RV) 30-amp breaker is tripping on 28 or 29 amps.
eye95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 05:50 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Payson, AZ
Posts: 3,922
boy, a lot of comments. many of which may not apply

can we confirm the problem?

full size lg refrigerator to means 120 vac power only, no 12 volt, no propane.
a/c is 120vac and 12 volt to run thermonstat.
nothing has been mentioned that leads me to think their is any problem with 12 volt power.
what does 'we know we can't have the water heater on to tun the a/c'. i am assuming this means the water heater cannot be running on 120 vac in order to run the a/c. but is there any reason why it can't be running on propane while the a/c is on?

no here is what has not been confirmed. the statement is i have to turn refrigerator off to run the a/c. why? what happens if you don't turn the refrigerator off? does the a/c have a problem, does the refrigerator have a problem, or is a circuit breaker tripping?

this could be as simple as overloading the 30 amp pedestal breaker. is this happening on multiple pedestals or did you just move to a new site and it started to happen at the new site?

i'm not trying to get picky but the problem really was never defined
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 06:22 PM   #16
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,505
How about a picture of the fridge?
__________________
2018 Forester 3011 DS

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.