Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2020, 08:08 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Take the longway home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
Magnadyne M4 LCD Navigation System

I'm having a problem with my Magnadyne M4 LCD GPS system . While driving to Cape Cod a few weeks ago the GPS just stopped working . Everything else works fine Radio ,BT ,CD , etc. I removed the SD card thinking it needed an update, but when I insert it into my laptop to do the update my laptop doesn't read the SD card.
I contacted Magnadyne and spoke with Tech Support and explained the problem they told me it sounded like the SD card was possibly wiped clean from a power surge in the system . I asked if a new SD card can be purchased and was told that this system was discontinued and could no longer be updated and suggested I purchase a new system for $700 .Does anyone know if there's an aftermarket SD card for this navigation system or a compatible replacement system .
Thanks for the help.
Take the longway home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 09:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
007matman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2,146
The SD card is probably just a regular SD card. You should (in theory) be able to buy a new one from just about anywhere.

The software isn't available from the manufacturer any longer? You should just be able to download the software to the SD card. Doesn't make sense that they wouldn't offer you an older version.
007matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 06:03 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Take the longway home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
When I asked if I could purchase a new SD with the software program I was told it was discontinued for the M4 model.
So your saying if I use a new SD card and download the software this should work? When I press the GPS button ,l get no response . Is that because the program is no longer on the SD card ?
Thanks for your help
Take the longway home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 09:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 456
I have a Ford Sync in my car and a no name aftermarket in my TV and both will tell me to "Insert SD card" if it is not there or can not be read. If you get blank screen it sounds to me like a hardware fault.
__________________
Dale & Karen
2015 Lacrosse 311RLS
2006 F-250 The 06-6.0
Dwilcox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 02:10 PM   #5
7 Year Class A RV'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,066
I removed our M4 unit from our 2015 Legacy and replaced it with a simple monitor for the cameras. I have the whole unit here, not being used. PM me your mailing address and I can send it to you if you think it will help.
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 02:28 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Garrette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,417
Try this. I sert thé SD card and power on. In the lower left corner is a little reset button that you push with a pen. Press and hold to reset the unit.
__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3170 DSF
Dorothy, Garrette and Miss Bella.
Retired and having fun.
Garrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 07:15 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Take the longway home's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
I tried to reset with no success. I'm Thinking its a Hardware issue as Dwilcox mentioned . I'm looking at replacing with another unit.
Thanks for everyone thoughts.
Take the longway home is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.