Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2021, 10:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
New to

Hi everyone! We are fairly new to RVing and have a few questions to ask as newbies. We have a 2016 Windjammer 3006wk and love it. Here are a few questions

1. Our furnace seems to run in short bursts when trying to get up to a temp. I assume this is to give time for the air to travel and warm the unit, is this true or are we having issues? For example it may fire up 3-4 times over a 30 min period to get up a degree or 2.

2. How do people find batteries. We just put in 2 new 6 volts and after 2 days and running the Honda Eu2000 on eco 2 hrs a night, we were getting the low voltage beep from the detector inside. With all LED seems strange but maybe the furnace running all night kills them?

3. Anyone get larger than 20lb propane into the unit? Seems like tiny bottles for this large trailer.


Thanks everyone!
Jase
JaseVernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 11:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 99
Furnace should not cycle that much, I don't think. I have read that if your vents are not clear, it may not move enough air out of the lines and cause the heater to shut the overheat switch off. Once it cools enough it will start again. Make sure vent are clear, and if you can, check to make sure none of the ducting is collapsed, or crimped. Also make sure your cold air intake is clear. It is all about move the proper amount of air into and then out of the system.
__________________
Marc in sunny California
2013 Crusader 260 RLD
2012 RAM 2500 Laramie CTD and 4:10
mmartin_tdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 11:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 99
On your batteries, are you sure your battery cutoff switch is allowing the current to get to the batteries? If the switch is off, then the convertor can't send the power to the batteries to charge them.
__________________
Marc in sunny California
2013 Crusader 260 RLD
2012 RAM 2500 Laramie CTD and 4:10
mmartin_tdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 11:13 PM   #4
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 26,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaseVernon View Post
Hi everyone! We are fairly new to RVing and have a few questions to ask as newbies. We have a 2016 Windjammer 3006wk and love it. Here are a few questions



1. Our furnace seems to run in short bursts when trying to get up to a temp. I assume this is to give time for the air to travel and warm the unit, is this true or are we having issues? For example it may fire up 3-4 times over a 30 min period to get up a degree or 2.



2. How do people find batteries. We just put in 2 new 6 volts and after 2 days and running the Honda Eu2000 on eco 2 hrs a night, we were getting the low voltage beep from the detector inside. With all LED seems strange but maybe the furnace running all night kills them?



3. Anyone get larger than 20lb propane into the unit? Seems like tiny bottles for this large trailer.





Thanks everyone!

Jase
It sounds like you have no shore power and are strictly on 12v battery power.
The furnace is the biggest 12v power hog, in your TT. So if you're running it all night, then yes, the batteries will be down after a couple of nights.
And I'm not aware that bigger propane tanks can fit on a V-nose TT.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 11:57 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmartin_tdc View Post
Furnace should not cycle that much, I don't think. I have read that if your vents are not clear, it may not move enough air out of the lines and cause the heater to shut the overheat switch off. Once it cools enough it will start again. Make sure vent are clear, and if you can, check to make sure none of the ducting is collapsed, or crimped. Also make sure your cold air intake is clear. It is all about move the proper amount of air into and then out of the system.
Thank you! Any chance you know where to look for those lines? Lol I will dig into it through Google as well but just in case you know already!
JaseVernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2021, 11:59 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
And Thank you to the others too, yes likely the batteries are also draining because the cycling of the furnace. As the fan stays on in-between as well
JaseVernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 12:04 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
I just timed it....2 min run on the furnace then 1min 40sec off and continues like that.
JaseVernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 06:06 AM   #8
Site Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 9,259
Sounds like the furnace is cycling off on hi-limit. Or the control board is bad.

Will it run continuously when running the generator, or does it do the same thing?

You need to inspect the ducts to make sure they're not blocked and that all the registers are not blocked, even the small ones in the bathroom, etc..
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 10:50 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaseVernon View Post
I just timed it....2 min run on the furnace then 1min 40sec off and continues like that.


You furnace is cycling on high limit; or possible poor positioning of the thermostat detecting the hot air flow from the discharge vents. Make sure all vents are open +/or not blocked.
Batteries will run low with the furnace running all night. A typical furnace draws 10amps. If the larger 30# or 40# bottles fit replace the 20#ers. Keep in mind your weights increase.
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 11:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
tuckerdog1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 747
We have a 2016 Windjammer. Different floorplan ( 3029W ). It came with two 30 gallon propane tanks.

Found this old sales video. Shows your model with 30 lb tanks.
__________________

2016 RAM 2500 Cummins SLT Lone Star 4X4 LB
2016 Windjammer 3029W Platinum
I'm not an expert. But I play one on the internet.
You live & learn or you don't live long.
If you don't punish your children, life will.
tuckerdog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 03:31 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Thank you everyone! We are going to try and fit the 30's into the front, we will just need a better tie down.

For the furnace, it does it even plugged in. Checked and no vents are blocked. Everything looks good.

We are getting very poor air movement though, I think. Not sure how hard the air should come out of the Vents. The last trailer we had it seemed to move more air.

Going to try and test the limit switch etc today.

Jase
JaseVernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 05:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
When we updated tanks to larger size a longer 3/8 all thread rod was needed.

Did you ever have the gas Psi checked?
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 05:42 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Try using the generator in normal mode not eco mode!

Check to also see if the blower wheel is clean.
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 03:06 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Thanks everyone, I am definitely upgrading the propane tanks. I test fit them this weekend, but I am going to look for a better fastening system other than the threaded bar as they are such a pain. Also with the Vnose I cannot see the gauge.

As far as the furnace goes, if I bypass the high level switch it works fine, also when I take the back cover off to expose the limit switch when the blower kicks on its moving a ton of air. So I am going to assume it is blowing well. My multimeter battery is dead, and it is some strange battery, so I am just going to replace the limit switch since it is cheap, and see what happens.

thanks!
Jase
JaseVernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2021, 11:43 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 7
Hi everyone,

I changed the limit switch, and still not working. Blower seems good...anything else I can look at before I pull i out? thanks
JaseVernon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 01:34 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 468
Years ago I had a camper that did this same thing cycle on/off:
Dealer added 2 more discharge ducts; same problem.
DC voltage check near furnace if this is a dc unit: 10.5 v min.
If all ductwork/blower wheel is clean and not crushed.
Gas PSI check : inches of wc
Confirm the heat exchanger is not blocked.
Control board?
Blower motor amp draw
Dealer was going to derate the furnace and put a smaller gas orifice in it.
I stated as long as the heater mfg authorized this in writing!
A bandaid approach!
It should work as designed. Were all of the correct parts used during assembly/who knows without a teardown....
Maybe you just need to pull it if problem can not be determined and bench check it.
Good Luck
mfMcFroggierPod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 05:38 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
nomad297's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 6,779
Here’s the brochure for the 2016 Windjammers. It shows that all Windjammers came with two 30# propane bottles.

https://forestriverinc.com/brochures...rkbrochure.pdf

Bruce
__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond Edition
2015 Chevy 3500HD LTZ 6.0 Crew Cab 4x4 Long Bed 4.10:1 SRW
nomad297 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2021, 07:51 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
jeff64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 1,840
I've already replaced the lp reg on my 2016 V. It came with 2 X 30# tanks
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 27VRL Emerald
14K Equalizer
2020 Silverado 2500HD CC 4X4 6.6L gas 3.73
jeff64 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.